Captain Regents of San Marino

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership

Every 6th month The Consiglio Grande e Generale elects 2 Captain Regents, who acts as joint Heads of State and Government and as Chairmen of the Consiglio Grande e Generale

1981 Capitano Reggente Maria Lea Pedini Angelini

. She was the first woman on the post, and later became Director in the Ministry of Government and Foreign Affairs, and has been non-resident Ambassador in the Ministry to France, Denmark, Sweden, and Norway etc. since 1995. (b. 1954-).

Gloriana Ranocchini

1984 and 1989-90 Capitano Reggente Gloriana Ranocchini

Member of the Parliament before becoming joint-head of state. (b. 1957-).

1991-92 Capitano Reggente Edda Ceccoli, San Marino 

Member of the leadership of Partito Democratico Cristano Sammarinese. 

1993 Capitano Reggente Patrizia Busignani, San Marino 

1983-90 President of Partito Socialista Unitario, before becoming joint Head of the State, President of the Parliament and Chief of the Government. Party President and Chief of the Parliamentary Group of Socialisti per le Riforme around 1997-2009.

1999 and 2008 Capitano Reggente Rosa Zafferani

Director in the Department of Finance, Budget and Programs before she was elected to the Consiglio Grande e Generale in 1998. Secretary of State of Health, Social Security and Provision 2002-04, Secretary of State of Public Education, University, and Cultural Institutions from 2004 and 2005-06 also in charge of Internal Affairs. (b. 1960 in USA).

2000 Capitano Reggente Maria Domenica Michelotti
Former lecturer at San Marino University and Member of the Consiglio Grande e Generale since 1998.  She is widow and her married name was Casadei Michelotti. Mother of two girls (b. 1952-).


2003-04 Capitano Reggente Valeria Ciavatta

Member of the Grand and General Council for the Alianza Populare since 1993 and Chairperson of the Council Group 2002-05, Party President 2006, Minister of Minister of Internal Affairs and Civil Protection and Accomplishment of the Programme from 2006. As Captain Regent, she was joint head of a state with a man, and also President of the Parliament and Head of Government. Mother of twins. (b. 1959-).

2008 Capitano Reggente Assunta Meloni
Member of the Consiglio Grande e Generale for Alleanza Popolare from 2006. Married to Fabrizio Stacchini and mother of 2 sons. (b. 1951-).

2011 Capitano Reggente Maria Luisa Berti, San Marino

Member of the Consiglio Grande e Generale for Noi Sammarinesi since 2008. In 2011 she was also joint president of the parliament. (b. 1971-)

2012-13 Capitano Reggente Denise Bronzetti

Held various positions within the Politica del Partito Socialista Sammarinese and Partito dei Socialisti e dei Democratici and member of the Consiglio Grande Generale since 2006. (b. 1972-)

2013 Capitano Reggente Antonella Mularoni
As Secretary of Foreign and Political Affairs 2008-12, she also functioned as Leader of the Government even though the Captain Generals are both Heads of State and Government. She was Political Secretary to the Minister of Finance 1986-87, Director of the Office for relations with the associations of San Marino citizens living abroad 1987-90, Deputy Permanent Representative to the Council of Europe, 1989-90, Barrister and public notary in the Republic of San Marino 1991-2001, Member of the General Grand Council 1993-2001 and again from 2008, and Judge of the European Court of Human Rights 2001-08. (b. 1961-).

2013-14 Capitano Reggente Anna Maria Muccioli
Member of the Consiglio Grande e Generale for the Partito Democratico Cristiano since 2008. (b. 1964-).

2015-16 Capitano Reggente Lorella Stefanelli, San Marino
Member of the Consiglio Grande e Generale for the Partito Democratico Cristiano from 2012.

2017 Captain Regent Mimma Zavoli, San Marino

As Captain Regent she also chairs the Consiglio Grande e Generale jointly with the other Captain Regent, which for the first time was another woman. Member of the Consiglio Grande e Generale for Civico 10. (b. 1963-).


2017 Captain Regent Vanessa d’Ambrosio, San Marino

Member of the Consiglio Grande e Generale for Sinistra Socialista Democratica (b. 1988-).

 Last update 01.04.2017

Note: This site is built in Microsoft Expression
which does not allow for adaption to newer browsers
 and as a result fonds may appear untidy