Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Female Leaders of Bougainville 

Declared independence from Papua New Guinea in 1989 and was granted internal autonomy 1999 after a long civil war
and in 2005 a new autonomous government was elected in the first democratic elections

Also see Bougainville Parliament

1998-2005 Member of the People's Congress (executive) Theresa Jaintong
A prominent Women's Leader and Co-Chair of the peace-negotiations.

1998-2005 Member of the People's Congress (executive) Elizabeth Buran

1998-2005 Member of the People's Congress (executive) Doreas Awasi

2005 Member of the Caretaker Cabinet Magdalen Toroansi
Minister responsible for Womenís Issues, Religion, Traditional Authority, Local Level Government and Non-governmental Organisations

She is a former Papua New Guinean diplomat, Vice-Leader of the
Peoples Congress Party and Woman's Leader.

2009-10 Minister for Women and Community Affairs, Churches and NGO's Laura Ampa
2009 Acting President of the Government (some days in February)
The President appointed her to the position when both he and his Deputy were attending a meting in the Papuan capital.

2010-12 Minister of Community Development, Women, Youth and Churches Rose Pihei
2012- Minister of Culture and Tourism


10Last updated 13.05.13