Suriname Party Leaders

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Pary Leaders of Suriname (Female suffrage 1948)

Also see Suriname Ministers and Suriname Parliament

1996-2000 Vice-President of Basispartij voor Democratie en Vernieuwing Marijke Djawalapersad
2000-03 Leader of Naya Kadam (New Choice)
2003- Deputy Leader of Unie van Progressieve Surinamers (UPS)
She was co-founder of BVD, Chairperson of the Nationale Assemblee 1996-2000. UPS is a merger of various parties, which did not enter the Parliament in 2005. (b. 1951-).

1999- Vice-Chairperson of Partij voor Democratie en Ontwikkeling in Eenheid Marlyn Aaron-Denz

2000-05 Parliamentary Leader of Millennium Combinatie Jennifer Simons-Geerlings
2005-10 Parliamentary Leader of DNP
In 2005 Jenny Simons was candidate for the post of Chairperson of the National Assembly but lost to Paul
Somohardjo who was sacked as a cabinet minister in 2003 after he was convicted and sentenced to a conditional two months jail term for indecency against a group of young women participating in a beauty contest organized by him. Parliament President from 2010.

2000-05 Deputy Parliamentary Leader of Millennium Combinatie C. Linger-van der Zie

2000-05 Parliamentary Leader of Nationaal Democratisch Partij/2000 Faction Yvonne Reine Antoniette (Wonny) Rawales-Resida
Minister of Regional Development 1996-2000 and Minister of Justice and Police1999-2000, Leader of the NDP 2000 Faction. In 2005 she was the candidate for the Post of Vice-Chairperson of the Nationale Assemblee for VVV, de Volksalliantie voor Vooruitgang. (b. 1941-).

2000-02 Leader of the Partij voor Democratie en Ontwikkeling in Eenheid Monique Essed-Fernandes
Pre election Presidential Candidate for the party A-1 in 2005.



Last update 01.07.10