Korea North Ministers

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Democratic People's Republic of North-Korea/ Chosen Michu-chui Inmin Kongwa-guk (Female suffrage 1946) Japanese Colony 1910-45, Russian occupation 1945-48, Independence 1948

Also see Korea Heads and North Korea Parliament

1948-57 Minister of Culture Ho Chong-suk
Minister of Justice

1958-66 Vice-Minister of Light Industry Kim Pok-sin
1971-81 Minister of Textile and Paper Manufacturing Industry
1981-circa 2002 Vice-Chairperson of the Council of Ministers of the Administration Council and Chairperson of the Committee for Light Industry
Deputy Director of the Puongyang Local General Bureau of Industry 1966-69
and appointed Alternate member of the Politburo in 1983. (b. 1925-)

1961-63 Minister of Agriculture Pak Chong-se
Member of the Politburo as the only female member to date

1962-63 Minister of Commerce Yin Yang-suk
1967-72 Minister of Textile and Paper Industries

1966-72 Minister of Culture Pak Yong-sin

1967-72 Minister of Foodstuff and Daily Necessities Industries Yi Ho-hyok

1980-98 Minister of Finance Yun Gi-jong

1981-1998 Vice-Minister of Education  Ryo Won Gu
Firste elected member of the SPA from 1946, and among many other posts, she was First Deputy Director of the General Department for Overseas Korean Affairs around 1989, President of the Democratic Front for the Reunification of the Fatherland and Vice-Chairperson of the Supreme People's Assembly 1998-2009. She lived (1928-2009)

1988-2003 Head of the Light Industry Division of the Worker’s Party Economic Policy Audit Department Kim Kyung-hee
Member of the Political Bureau of the Worker's Party and General in the Korean People's Army
2012- Party Secretary and Director of the WPK Organisation and Guidance Department
2013- Member of the Executive Committee of the Worker's Party

The sister of the Supreme Leader of North Korea, Kim Jong Il, and had direct access to him in decision-making, bypassing the department chief. She held various official posts from 1976. Apparently she was removed from power in 2003 together with her husband, and reappeared in public in 2009. Her nephew, Kim Jong-un, became Supreme Leader in 2012 she is believed to act as a kind of "regent" - until 2013 together with her husband, Jang Sung-taek, who was removed from power several times and executed. She remained powerful. (b. 1946-)

Circa 2002- Vice Minister of City Management Ri Hui Gyong

Until 2009 Vice-Minister of Machine-Building Industry Han Kwang Bok
2009-circa 2012 Minister of Electronics Industry
2010-circa 2012 Deputy Prime Minister
A director in the central committee of the WPK from 2012. (b. 1946-).

2009- Chairperson of the Korean Committee for Cultural Relations with Foreign Countries Kim Jong Suk
Former editor-in-chief of the North Korean newspaper Minju Choson, or Democratic Korea. Widow of a former foreign minister.

2010-12 Deputy Prime Minister and Alternate Member of the Political Bureau of the Worker's Party Kim Rak Hui
Former Vice Department Director of the Central Committee of the Workers' Party of Korea and Chief Secretary the South Hwanghae Provincial Committee of the WPK 2005-10. She lived (1933-2013)

2014- Vice-Director of the Workers Party's Propaganda and Agitation Department Kim Yo-jong
Held senior posts in the WPK Central Committee. In In October 2014 she was reported to have possibly taken over state duties for her ailing brother
, Kim Jong-Un, while he underwent medical treatment. (b. 1987-)

Updates 04.12.14