Swizerland Candidates for the Bundesrat

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Swizerland Candidates for the Bundesrat (Federal Council - Government)

Also see Switzerland Ministers

1984 Lilian Uchtenhagen
The official candidate of the Social Democrats lost to a man from her own party. (b. 1928-).

1986 Judith Stamm
Stood as unofficial candidate. (b. 1934-).

1989 Monika Weber
Official Candidate
 Evangelic and Independent Group. (b. 1943-)

1993 Christiane Brunner
Official Candidate of the Social Democrats, lost to a man from her own party, who was forced not to accept his election. Instead Ruth Dreifuss won the second round against Christiane Brunner. (b. 1947-).

1998 Christiane Langenberger
Official FDP-candidate lost to a man from her own party. (b. 1941-).

2003 Ruth Metzler-Arnold
Official CVP-candidate lost to a 20 year older man from her own party. The Federal Councillor of Justice and Police since 1999 and Vice-President in 2003, she was the first incmbent Councillor of State not to be reelected for 131 years.  She would have become Federal President for 2004 - instead her party's 20 year older male representative in government held that post in 2004. (b. 1964-)

2003 Christine Beerli
Official Candidate of FDP, lost to a 11 years older man from her own party eventhough her election had been considered relatively secure. She is former Chairperson of the Parliamentary Group of the FDP. (b. 1953-).

2010 Jacqeline Fehr
Socialist Candidate. Simonetta Sommaruga was elected.

2010 Karin Keller-Sutter
Candidate of the Federal FDP-candidate and the 4th woman of the party not to be elected because a male candidate from the party was elected instead.

2010 Brigit Wyss
Candidate for the Green Party


Last pdate 27.09.10