Sri Lanka Local Leaders

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Sri Lanka Local Leaders

Also see Sri Lanka Ministers

1952-61 Deputy Mayor of Colombo Ayisha Beebi Mayen Rauf
Born in Kerala in India, the first Srilankan Muslim woman to embark on a political career. She lived (1917-92)

1982-89 Minister of the Nuwara Eliya District Renuka Herath
She was in charge of the only Tamil majority district outside the North and Eastern part of the country. Minister of State of Education 1989 and Minister of Health and Women's Affairs 1989-94. Her full name is Dunuthilaka Mudiyanslage Renuka Manike Hearath. She married in 1980 and the mother of one daughter. (b. 1945-)

1987-90 District Minister for Batticaloa in the East Ranganayaki Pathmanathan
She was sister of Keerthi Abeywickrama, who succumbed to his injuries in the grenade attack in Parliament in 1987

1993-94 Chief Minister Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga, Western Province
In 1994 she was first Federal Prime Minister and later elected President. The Western Province includes the capital Colombo

1998 (January-May) Mayor Sarojini Yogeswara, Jaffa
She was killed by the Tamil Tigers

1999 Chief Minister Jayani Tissera Dissanayake, North Central Province (April-June)
She stepped down in favour of her husband, Berty Premalal Dissanayake, who is also Minister in the central government. She later became Private Secretary for another Minister, Dr. Duddley Dissanayake.

1999 Chief Minister Nalini Weerawanni, Uva Province
She was nominally sworn in as chief minister to pave the way for her husband, Samaraweera Weerawanni, MP and former Deputy Minister in the Central Government.

2006-15 Governor Neranjala Pushpa Kumari Balasooriya, Southern Province
Her surname is also transcribed as Balasuriya. She is married to former Governor of North Central Province Jagath
Balasooriya (or Balasuriya), and they held office at the same time for a few weeks in 2006. (b. 1949).

2015- Governor Amara Piyaseeli Ratnayake, North Western Province
Entered the political arena after her husband, W.M. Wimalaratne Bandara, was killed by political opponents and was MP 1977-2004. Deputy Minister of Transport 1987-88, State Minister of Home Affairs 1988-91, Minister in charge of Public Administration 1991-94 and 2001-04 Minister in charge of Women's Affairs. (b. 1938-)

2015-16 Governor Surangani Ellawala, Central Province
She lived (1939-2016)

2016- Governor Niluka Ekanayake, Central Province
Journalist and news paper editor.


Last update 30.03.16