Spain Parties

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Spain Parties

Also see Spain Ministers

1930-42 Chairperson of the Communist Party of Vizcaya Dolores Ibarruin Gomez
1942-60 Secretary General 
1960-67 Leader of the PCE in Soviet Union
1967-89 Honorary Chairperson of PCE
Vice-President of Cortes 1937-39, in exile in USSR 1939-74. When she returned to Spain she was elected to the Parliament and was Preident-by-Age (1977-79) She lived (1895-1989).

1977-79 President of Unión Democratia de Catalunya Concepció Ferrer i Casales
1984-86 President of UDC
1987-? Vice President of European Union of Christian Democrats
1994-? Group-Vice President of the European People's Party in the European Parliament

1979-? President of Falange Epañola de las JONS Carmen Franco y Polo, II Duquesa de Franco

1981-? President of Partido Feminista Lidia Falcon O'Neill

1986 President of Democratic Conservative Union Isabel Isabel Tocino Biscarolasaga
1991/92-? Vice President of Partido Popular

1988-96 Secretary General Popular Coalition Group in the Cortes Loyola de Palacio del Valle-Lersundi
1988-96 Vice-Group Chairman of Partido Popular's
Minister 1996-99 and EU-Commissoner from 1999.

1993-? Spokesperson of Izquerda Unida (United Left) Rosa Aguilar Bendale
Minister of Agriculture from 2010.

1996-2004 Secretary General of PSOE in the Congreso de los Deputados María Teresa Fernández de la Vega Sanz
Minister of State of Justice of State of Justice 1994-96 and from 2004-10 1. Vice-President of the Government, Minister of the Presidency and Government Spokesperson.

1999-2007 Chairperson of Eusko Alkartasuna (Basque Solidarity) Begoña Errazti Esnal

2007- Leader of UPyD (Unión, Progreso y Democracia) Rosa Díez González
Left the PSOE because of disagreement with the party line and gave up her seat, but elected for her new party in 2008. (b. 1952-)

2008- Secretary General of the Partido Popular Maria Dolores de Cospedal García
Second in command of the party. Subsecretary in the Ministry of Interior 2004-05, Councillor of Transport and Infrastructure in the Government of the Comunidad de Madrid under the presidency of Esperanza Aguirre. Senator from Comunidad de Castilla-La Mancha since 2006, Leader of PP in the Province and Government President 2011-15. She is divorced and
single mother. (b. 1965-).

2008-11 Spokesperson of the Partido Popular in Congress Soraya Sáenz de Santamaría
Third in the hiearchy after the Chairman and Secretary General. MP from 2004 and 1. Vice-President of the Government from 2011. (b. 1971-).

2008-11 Spokesperson of the Coalición Canaria Ana María Oramas González-Moro

2012- PSOE Spokesperson in the Congress Soraya Rodríguez Ramos
State Secretary of Cooperation 2008-11.

2012- Spokesperson of PSOE and Vice-Secretary General Elena Valenciano Martínez-Orozco

2014- President of PSOE Micaela Navarro

2014-15 Senate Spokesperson for PSOE María Victoria Chivite Navascués
Secretary General of PSN-PSOE in Navarra from 2014.


Last update 07.07.16