South Africa Parties

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
South Africa Parties

Also see South Africa Ministers

Circa 1961 Chairperson of the Labour Party J. McPherson

1953-54 President of the Liberal Party V. Margaret Ballinger

1970-89 Parliamentary leader of the Progressive Party Helen Suzman
MP 1953-89 and an outspoken opponent of the Apartheid Regime, and lived (1917-2009).

1988-92 President of United Democratic Front Albertine Sisuli

1994-99 Chief Whip of Pan Africanist Congress (PAC) Patricia de Lille
2003- L
eader of the Independent Democrats

1995-96 Chairperson of the (ANC) Parliamentary caucus Baleka Mbete
2007- National Chairperson
Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly 1996-2004 and 2004-08. Deputy State President 2008-09.

1998-2007 Deputy Secretary General of African National Congress, ANC Thenjiwe Mtintso

1999- Chief Whip in the National Assembly of the Pan African Congress, PAC
2004- Whip of the ANC Mietha Patricia Coetzee-Kasper
There are a substantial number of Parliamentary ANC Whips, including many women.

1999-2004 Whip of the National Assembly of InKartha Freedom Party, IFP Sybil A. Seaton
2004-... Deputy Chief Whip

2006-11 Chairperson of Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP) Zanele kaMagwaza-Msibi
2011- President of the National Freedom Party (NFP).
Mayor of Zululand District Municipality in KwaZulu-Natal and candidate for Premier of KwaZulu Natal.

2007- Leader of the Democratic Alliance and Opposition Leader Helen Zille

Mayor of Cape Town from 2006 and Premier of Western Cape from 2009. (b. 1951-).

2007-09 Leader of the Parliamentary Caucus of Democratic Alliance and Parliamentary Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly Sandra Botha
Candidate for the post of Speaker in 2008.

2009 Designate Chairperson of ANC Parliamentary Caucus Nozizwe Madlala-Routledge
Deputy Minister of Defence 1999-2004 and Deputy Minister of Health 2004-07 until she was fired by the president because of her opposition to the Minister of Health, who thought nutrition can replace treatment with anti-retroviral drugs against aids. Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly in 2008-09, and was appointed ANC Caucus Chair but decided not to take up her seat in parliament.


2009-14 Chairperson of the ANC Parliamentary Caucus Mildred N. Oliphant

Assistant Speaker of the National Council of Provinces, 2004-04 and originally Designated to become Deputy Speaker of the NCOP in 2009 and Minister from 2014.

2013- Leader of Agang Mamphela Rampheles
Presidential candidate in 2014. Former Director in the World Bank. (b. 1966-)




Last update 04.06.14