Nigeria Local Leaders

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Female Nigeria Local Leaders

Also see Nigeria Ministers

1970-71 Commissioner of Health and Social Welfare Flora Nwapa, East Central State
1971-73 Commissioner of Lands
1973-75 Commissioner of Establishments
Writer and educator. She lived (1931-93)

Before 1988 Deputy Speaker of the Assembly Niue Omoworare-Agunbaide, Oyo

1990-98 Deputy Governor Alhaja Latifat Okunu, Lagos State

1990-93 Deputy Governor Pamela Sadauki, The State of Kaduna

1990-98 Deputy Governor Cecilia Ekpenyong, Cross River State

1999-2003 Deputy Governor Louisa Kofo Bucknor-Akerele, Lagos State
Kofowarola was candidate for governor in 2003. Only three women stood as candidates but none were elected.

1999-2002 Speaker of the Legislature Margaret Icheen, Benue State

Around 2002-03 Deputy Speaker of the Legislature Mutiat Adetoun Adediran

2003-05 Deputy Governor Sinatu Ojikutu, Lagos State

2003- Deputy Governor Erelu Olusola Obada, The Osun State

2003-08 Speaker of the House of Assembly Titi Shodunke Oseni, The Ogun State

2003-04 Speaker of the House of Assembly Eucharia Anazodo, Anambra State

2005-06 Deputy Governor Chief Abiodun Olujimi, Ekiti State
Member of the House of Representatives until her appointment. Impeached together with the Governor charged of corruption, and the Parliamentary Speaker became Acting Governor.

2006 Deputy Governor Dame Virginia Etiaba, Anambra State
2006-07 Governor
Also known as Dame Virgy, she took office as Deputy Governor in March and became Governor when her predecessor was impeached, but she immediately transferred her powers to Peter Obi, when the Appeal Court voided the impeachment.
(b. 1942-).

2007-11 Deputy Governor Sarah Adebisi Sosan, Lagos State

2007-11 Deputy Governor Ada Okwuonu, Imo State
Nominated to the Federal Cabinet in 2011 but rejected by the Parliament.


2007 Acting Deputy Governor Chief Stella Odife, Anambra State
In office for 17 days after the Governor was impeached for corruption. He was later reinstated. Minister of Aviation 2011-15.


2011-15 Deputy Governor Otunba Grace Titlayo Laoye-Tomori, Osun State


2012-15 Deputy Governor Valerie Ebe, Akwa Ibom State

2015- Deputy Governor Ipalibo Banigo, Rivers State

2015- Deputy Governor Oluranti Adebule, Lagos State

2015- Deputy Governor Yetunde Onanuga, Ogun State

2015- Deputy Governor Cecilia Ezeilo. Enugu State


2015 Governor-elect Aisha Jummai Al-Hassan, Taraba State
Declared winner of the gubernatorial elections, but this was later revised by the Appeal Court. Former national Senator and Minister of State for Women from 2015.





Last updated 21.11.16