Myanmar/Burma Parties

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Myanmar/Burma Parties

Also see Myanmar Ministers

1988- Opposition Leader Aung San Suu Kuy
In 1990 her party, The National League for Democracy - of which she is Secretary General - won 75% of the seats in the National Assembly but the military dictatorship ignored the result and never called the Parliament. On 6 May 2010, the party was declared illegal and disbanded by the ruling military junta after failing to register for the elections slated for November 2010. She has been in House Arrest 1989-95, 2000-02 and since 2003. (1945-).

1990-ca.94 Leader of the Anti-Fascist People's Freedom League Cho Cho Kyaw Nyein

2008- General Secretary of the Karen National Union Naw Zipporah Sein
The KNU also functions as an alternative government.


Last update 22.12.12