Jamaica Parties

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Jamaica Parties

Also see Jamaica Ministers

1948-60 Chairman of the Labour Party Rose Agatha Leon
She was Minister two times.

1978-83 Deputy Leader of Labour Party Enid Bennett
Number of Ministerial Posts

1978-2006 Deputy President of People's National Party Portia Simpson Miller
2006- Party Leader
Member of the government 1976-82, 1989-91 and again since 1999. Candidate for the Leadership and post of Prime Minister in 1992. (b. 1946-).

1995-2001 Secretary General of the People's National Party Maxine Henry-Wilson
2001- Vice-Chairperson of PNP.
Number of Ministerial posts

1995- Vice-President of National Democratic Movement Joan Gordon-Webley
A former MP and Senator

1995-circa 2003 Vice-President of National Democratic Movement Hyacinth Bennett
2002-03 Leader and President of the NDM

Circa 2000-03 Deputy Leader of Jamaica Labour Party Olivia "Babsy" Grange

Circa 2000-03 Vice-Chairperson Jamaica Labour Party Dorothy Lightbourne
She has been Deputy President of Senate since 1989 and Shadow Minister since around 1999

2001- Leader of the United People's Party Antonnette Haughton-Cardenas

2006- Vice-President of the People's National Party Angela Brown-Burke


Last update 26.09.06