Georgia Parties

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Georgia Parties

Also see Georgia Ministers

Circa 1992-99 Vice-Chairperson of the Green's Party Roza Lortkipanidze

1994-99 Chairperson of National Democrats (NDP) Irena Sarishvili-Chantura
1994-99 Parliamentary Leader
2003     Spokesperson of For a New Georgia (pro-Shevardnadze block)
2006- Leader of the Imedi Party
Leader of the Hope Party

She took over the leadership of NDP after her husband was assassinated. Deputy Premier 1993-94. Presidential Candidate in 2008.

1995- Chairperson of Georgian Women's Party Marina Abesadse

1995-99 Chairperson of the Majority of the Parliament Lana Gogoberidze
She was MP for the Union of Citizen,
1996-1999 Head of the Georgian Delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe and from 1999 Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Permanent Representative of Georgia to the Council of Europe. Originally a film director. (b. 1928-).

1995-99 Vice-Chairperson of the Labour Faction Ada Marshiana

1995-99 Vice-Chairperson of the New Rights Faction Pikria Chikhradze

1999-2004 Secretary of the Faction of Reneval (Aghordzeneba) Vatela Patarkalishivli

2000-04 Vice-Chairperson of the New Faction Pikria Chikhladze
From 2004 MP for
Block Right Oppozition, Industrialists, News.  (b. 1966-).

2000-04 Vice-Chairperson of the Faction of the Citizens' Union of Georgia Maia Simonidze
2004- Chairperson of the Faction of the
National Movement - Democrats
(b. 1961-).

2000-04 Secretary of the Faction of the Citizens' Union of Georgia Marina Molodini
From 2004 MP for
National Movement - Democrats.  

2003-08 Leader of Burjanadze-Democrats Nino Burjanadze
2008- Leader of the Democratic Movement - United Georgia
From 2001 Chairperson of the Supreme Council and from 22. november 2003 Interim President after President Eduard Shevardnadze was forced to resign as result of a "velvet revolution" after he rigged the parliamentary elections. Presidential Candidate in 2013.

2006-10 Leader of the Georgia's Way Salomé Zourabichvili
Minister of Foreign Affairs 2004-05 and became an UN Official in 2010.



Last update 13.08.13