Bangladesh Parties

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Female Leaders of Bangladesh Parties

Also see Bangladesh Ministers

1975- Leader Awami League Sheik Hasina Wajed
1986-87, 1991-96 and 2001-06 Opposition Leader
Prime Minister 1996-2001 and from 2009.

1975-79 President of the Awami Leauge Begum Zohra Tajuddin

1977-93 Secretary General of the Awami Leauge Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury
Minister of Environment and Forests 1996-98

1983-84 Vice-Chairperson of Bangladesh Nationalist Party Begum Khaleda Zia
1984- Chairperson of BNP
1996-2001 and 2009- Opposition Leader
Prime Minister 1992-96 and 2001-06

1991-93 Chairperson of Jatiya Dal Begum Raushan Ershad
1995- Member of the Party Leadership
2001  Acting Chairperson
2001-06 Parliamentary Leader
2014- Oppostition Leader
Now divorced from former dictator General Hussein Ershad, Minister of Health 2013-14.

Until 2005 Leader of a Faction within Jatiya Dal Bidisha Ershad
The estranged wife of Hussein Ershad, she favoured an alliance with the Awami Leauge, but was expelled from the party.



Last update 29.09.14