Argentina Local Leaders

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Female Argentina Local Leaders

Also see Argentina Ministers


1862 De-facto Acting Governor Eulalia Ares de Vildoza, Catamarque
She led a revolt against the governor, deposed him, organised elections and was in charge of the government until the new governor was installed. She lived (1809-84).

1991-92 Governor Matilde Svatetz de Menéndez, Tierra del Fuego, Antártida e Islas del Atlántico Sur

In 1991 she was 3rd. Vice-President of the Municipal Council of Buenos Aires
1992-93 Federal Interventor (Acting Governor) of Corrientes
1999-2001 Vice-Governor and President of Cámara de Senadores 
2001-03 Governor Maria Alicia Lemme, Provincia de San Luis
1999-2007 Vice-Governor and President of the Cámara de Diputados Mercedes Margarita Ouiedo, Misiones
She was provincial minister of Social Affairs, Women and Youth 1988-95. (b. 1952-)

2000-07 President of the Senate of La Ciudad Autonóma de Buenos Aires and Deputy Chief of the Government Lic. Maria Cecilia Felgueras 
She had various public administrative posts. (1960-)

2002 Vice-Governor Mercedes Marina Aragonés de Juárez, Santiago del Estero
2002-04 Governor
She was elected Vice-Governor as the running mate of her husband, Carlos Juárez (1918-) in September. He was elected governor in 1949, 1973, 1983, 1995, 1999 and 2002. She was suspended when she and her husband were arrested over allegations of corruption, abuses of power and murder (b. circa 1930-).
2003-07 Vice-Governor and Senate President Dra. Graciela Giannettasio, Buenos Aires
She is former MP and former General Director of Education of the Province. 2002-03 Federal Minister of Education, Science and Technology. (b. 1950-).
2003-? President of the Cámara de Diputados Josefina Meabe de Mathó, Corrientes
2004-06 President of the Patagonian Parliament Marta Milesi
The regional parliament (Parlamento Patagónico) consists of legislators of the provinces of Tierra del Fuego, Santa Cruz, Chubut, Río Negro, Neuquén and La Pampa.
2006-07 President of the Patagonian Parliament Angélica Guzmán
She was President of Legislature and Vice-Governor of Tierra del Fuego

2007-15 Governor Maria Fabiana Ríos, Tierra del Fuego
Member of the Chamber of Deputies until her election.

2007-11 Vice-Governor Lucía Corpacci Saadi de Mercado, Catamarca
2008-09 President of the Parliament of The Región de Noroeste Argentina
2011-15 Governor
The Region of the Argentine Northwest covers the Provinces of Catamarca, La Rioja, Jujuy, Salta, Santiago del Estero and Tucumán. Senator 2009-11.

2007-09 President of the Senate of La Ciudad Autonóma de Buenos Aires and Deputy Chief of the Government Gabriela Michetti
Resigned in order to run for the national parliament. Became National Vice-President in 2015. She uses a wheelchair after a car accident in 1994. (b. 1965-).

2013- Governor Claudia Ledesma Abdala de Zamora, Santiago del Estero
Former Municipal Judge, she was elected as successor of her husband.
2015- Governor Rosana Bertone, Tierra del Fuego, Antarctica and the Islands of the South Atlantics
MP 2003-13 and Senator 2013-15. (b. 1972-)

2015- Governor Alicia Kirchner Ostić, Santa Cruz
Minister of Social Development Alicia Kirchner (2003-05 and 2006-2015) and Senator 2005-06. (b. 1946-).

2015- Governor María Eugenia Vidal, Buenos Aires
Minister of Social Development of the City of Bueos Aires 2008-11 and Deputy Chief of the Government 2011-14. (b. 1973-)


Last update 05.12.15