The West Indies Federation

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
The West Indies Federation
A federation which existed 1958-62 consisting of the British dependent territories Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, Jamaica (to which were attached the Cayman Islands and Turks and Caicos Islands as dependencies), Montserrat, Saint Christopher-Nevis-Anguilla (present day Saint Kitts and Nevis and Anguilla), Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad and Tobago. The Federation was an internally self-governing. Britain intended that the Federation would shortly become a fully independent state, but the Federation did not survive long

1958-61 Minister of Labour and Social Affairs P.B.S. Allfrey
Phyllis Byam Shand Allfrey was the only female and only white minister in the government of the federation. Leader Dominican Labour Party 1961-64, she lived (1908-86)


Last update 22.05.06