US Pacific Trust Territories

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
US-Trust Territories of the Pacific Ocean 1947-91
USA administered the Pacific Island Territory for the United Nation. The trusteeship-period terminated 1986 but was prolonged until 1991. The Territory Included The Commonwealth of the Federated States of the Northern Mariana Islands, which remains an US external Territory.

1964-68 Director of the Office of the Territory in the US Department of the Interior Ruth Gill Van Cleve

1967-68 President of the United Nations-Trusteeship Council Angie Elizabeth Brook-Randolph
The Council Administered Nauru, Papua New Guinea, and the Pacific Islands Territories
Brook-Randolph was Assistant Attorney General 1953-58 and 1956-73 Assistant Secretary of State in Liberia, 1969 and 1976 President of the General Assembly of the UN, 1973-75 Liberian Ambassador-at-Large, 1975-77 Ambassador to the United Nations and Cuba, and 1977-80? Judge in the Supreme Court. (b. 1928-)

1969-71 Director of the Office of the Territories Elizabeth P. Farrington

1981-86/88 High Commissioner Janet McCoy
Director of the Office of Tourism and Visitor Service of California 1967-70. Involved in a number of election-campaigns – i.a. the “Regan For President” 1976-80. Assistant Secretary of Interior 1988-89. (She lived 1916-1995)

1989-93 Assistant Secretary of the Interior of Territories and Administration Stella Garcia Guerra
Assistant Secretary in the Department of the Interior of USA

1999-... Deputy Director of Insular Affairs in the Department of the Interior Sandra Salevasaosamoa King
She has been advisor for a number of US Senators. Born in American Samoa
, where she is a High Chief.



Last update 03.03.03