USA Parliament

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Parliament of the United States of America (Female suffrage 1922)

Also see United States of America Government

The tradition is that a member of the Senate or the House is appointed acting Speaker in the absence of both the Speaker and the Speaker Pro-Tempore, thus a large number of women has taken the chair for one session or more.

The Congress consists of the Senate and the House of Representatives

1921 Acting Speaker Pro Tempore of the House of Representatives Alice M. Robertson

1926 Acting
Speaker Pro Tempore of the House of Representatives Florence Prag Kahn

1943 Acting President Pro Tempore of the Senate Hattie O.w. Caraway (October 19)
She was the first woman to take her seat in the senate and the first to be appointed Acting President Pro Tempore and Preside over the Chamber.

1985-87 Secretary of the Senate Jo-Ann L. Coe
She lived

1991-94 Sergent-at-Arms of the Senate Marjory S. Pope
1994-95 Secretary of the Senate

1995 Secretary of the Senate Sheila P. Burke

2001 Acting President Pro Tempore of the Senate Hilary Rodham Clinton (24.01.01)
Wife of former President Clinton, she was elected a Senator in 2001

2001-03 Secretary of the Senate Jeri Thomson
Assistant Secretary 1989-95.

2001  Acting President Pro Tempore of the House of Representaives Shelley Moore Capito (07.02.2004)

2001-03 Secretary of the Senate  Emily J. Reynolds

2007-11 Speaker of the House of Represenatives Nancy Pelosi
Nancy Patricia D'Alesandro Pelosi has been an MP since 1987, she was Whip of the Democratic Party 2001-02 before becoming Minority Leader in 2002. As Speaker of the House she was Presiding Officer and had great influence over the committee process, and continud as the Head of the House Majority Party and in many ways functioned as "Opposition Leader" until 2009 and again from 2011. Mother of 4 daughters and 1 son. (b. 1940-).

2007- Secretary of the Senate Nancy Erickson

2007- Clerk of the House of Representatives Lorraine C. Miller


Last update 05.01.11