Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
New Zealand External Territory

The executive power is conducted by the General Fono (parliament) and when it is not in office the executive business is conducted by the Council for the Ongoing Government. Among it's 8 members are the three Faipule and the three Pulenuku, and each member has got a specific portfolio. The chairmanship (The Ulu o Tokelau) rotates among the Council-members. There have never been any members of the Government Council and but there are female members of the General Fono. Some of the Village Council, the Taupulega or Council of Elders, allow women members others are considering it.

2015- Administrator and High Commissioner Linda Te Puni, Tokelau (New Zealand)
Career diplomat


Last update 20.09.16