Taiwan Parliament

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Parliament of

Also see Taiwan Ministers

The National Assembly was once a powerful body, imported from China as a parliament-in-exile and met every six years to rubber stamp the KMT's choice of president. It was substantially weakened when it lost the right to elect Taiwan's leader in 1996, after direct presidential elections were introduced. Formally disbanded in 2000, it was briefly revived in May 2005 to ratify new constitutional changes.

The Legislative Yuan (Hng Xizh) is the actual legislative body.

1981-1992 Chairperson of the Presidium of the National Assembly Yeh Chin-feng
She was Judge in the Taichung District Court 1969-1980  and Presiding Judge, Yunlin District Court, 1981-1985 Judge of the Taichung Branch of Taiwan High Court, University Lecturer 1981-85,  Judge in the Supreme Court 1981-1986, 1987-1988,  Senior Specialist of the Judicial Yuan 1987, Commissioner of the Examination Yu   1987 and 1988, 1988-1992   Deputy Director-General, Department of Women's Affairs, Central Committee, Kuomintang and since 1988 Member of the Central Committee, Kuomintang, 1992-96 Vice-Chairperson of the Mainland Affairs Committee of the Executive Yuan, 1996-2000 Minister of State, 1996-97 Minister without Portfolio, 1997-98 Minister of the Interior, 1998-99 Chairperson of the Mainland Affairs Committee, 1999-2000 Minister of Justice. As Chairperson of the National Assembly she ranked second in the hierarchy of the state after the President.  (b. 1943-)

2005 Chairperson of the Presidium of the National Assembly Yeh Chu Lan
Deputy Convener of DPP Caucus in Legislative Yuan 1992 and General Convener 1995, 2000-02 Minister of  State and Minister of Transport and Communication (Third in Cabinet). 2002-04 Minister and Chairperson of the Council for Hakka Affairs, Vice-Premier 2004, Minister of the Council for Economic Planning and Development 2004 and Minister of Consumer Protection 2004-05. (b. 1949-).

2005 Acting Secretary-General of the National Assembly Chien Lin Whei-jun
Former Whip of TSU, the
 The Taiwan Solidarity Union

2012-16 Vice-President of the Legislative Yuan Hung Hsiu-chu
Former Deputy Chairperson and Deputy Secretary-General of Kuomintang and named Presidential Candidate in 2015, but the party later deselected her because of low ratings in the opinion polls. The new male candidate lost the elections in 2016 and she became Chair of the Party in March 2016 (b. 1948-).


Last update 05.05.16