Samoa Ministers

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Independent State of Samoa/ Malo Sa’oloto Tuts’atasi o Samoa i Sisifo (Formerly Western Samoa) (Limited Female Suffrage 1962/Universal suffrage 1989)
Formerly administered by Germany and New Zealand latterly with internal Self Government before becoming an independent federated state in 1962

See also Samoa Heads of state

The list of female members of government is complete

Matai means chief - there are four Mata’afa/ Paramount Chiefly families, last names are written in capitals due to the complicated systems of chiefly titles which evolves as the career progress.

1991-2006 Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports Fiame Naomi Mulinu’u Mata'afa
1995-2006 Minister of Education
1995-2001 Minister of Labour
1997-2001 Second in Cabinet
2001-11 Third in Cabinet
Minister of Women, Community and Social Development, the Public Service Commission, the Remuneration Tribunal and the Ombudsman’s Office
2011-16 Minister of Justice and Court Administration
2016- Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Natural Resorces and Environment

Acting Prime Minister on several occations. She is the daughter of the country’s first Premier in 1959-70 and 1973-75, Fiame Mata'afa Faumuina Mulinu’u II  (1925-75) and Laulu Fetauimalemau Mata'afa (1928-2007), former MP and Ambassador to New Zealand 1993-97. After her father's death, she was elected to one of his High Chiefly titles, Fiame from Lotofaga, in 2008 she was invested with the Paramountly Chiefly title of
Faumuina and in 2014 she appeared as Fiame Naomi Mata’afa, Masiofo Amelia Mata’afa Iosefo. Mata’afa is one of the royal family titles, referred to as the Tama Aiga, in Samoa.

1994-95 Minister of Internal- and Women's Affairs Polataivao Fosi

1998-2011 Attorney General Brenda Heather-Latu

2006-11 Minister of Health Gatoloaifaana Amataga Alesana Gidlow
A matai (Chief), she is daughter of the late Prime Minister Tofilau Eti Alesana and MP from 2006.

2006 Associate Minister of Justice Safuneitu'uga Pa'aga Neri
2006-11 Minister of Telecommunications and Broadcasting

2011-? Associate Minister Letoa Rita Pau Chang

2016- Minister for Women Affairs and Social Development Faimalotoa Kika Iemaima Stowers


Last update 23.03.16