Rwanda Ministers

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Rwanda/République Rwandaise/Republika y'u Rwanda
(Female e Suffrage 1961) Formerly part of the Belgian administered trusteeship of Rwanda-Urundi until becoming independent 1962

Also see Rwanda Heads of State and Rwanda Parliament

1964-65 Minister of Social Affairs and Public Health Madeleine Ayinkamiye

1992-93 Minister of Education Agathe Uwilingiyimana
1993-94 (†) Premier Ministre (16.6-7.4)
On the 6th of April 1994 the Hutu President Habyarimana was killed together with his Burundian colleague, Cyprien Ntaryamira, when their plane was rocketed on its way to Kigali airport. Agathe, a
Hutu, was killed by the Tutsi Presidential guard together with her family and 10 Belgian soldiers, the day before she was supposed to step down as premier minister. The two killings sparked off the civil war and genocide of approximately 1 million Hutus and Tutsies. She lived (1953-94)

1992-93 Minister of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Artisans Agnes Ntamaabyaliro
1993-94 Minister of Justice
Afterwards she was also minister-in-exile in Zaire. 1991 Secretary General of Parti Liberal, 1993/94 Co-Leader-in-exile of a Faction of PL, which was in favour of the former government, which was ousted after the civil war.

1992-94 Minister of Women and Family Pauline Nyirama-Suhuko
Sentenced to life in prison for her role in the genocide and the rape of Tutsi women and girls by the United Nation War Crimes Tribunal in 2011 as the first woman ever.

1994-99 Minister of Family and Women's Affairs Aloysia Inyumba
Circa 1998-99 Minister of Social Affairs  
2011-12 (†) Minister for Gender and Family Promotion
Secretary general of the Unity and Reconciliation Commission 1999-2001,
Prefect of Kigali-Ngali (Rural) 2001-06, Senator 2004-11. She lived (1964-2012)

1994-ca.98 Minister of Transport Immaculée Kaymba

1995-ca.98 Minister of Justice Marthe Mukanurenzi

Circa 1995-98 Minister of State for Interior, Communal Development and Resettlement Béatrice Sebatware-Panda

1999-2002 Minister of Gender and Women’s Development Angelina Kuganza Mugaza
2002-08 Minister of State for Skills Development, Vocational Training and Labour

1999-2000 Minister of State of Lands, Human Resettlements and Environmental Protection
2000-01 Minister of Public Service and Labour Syl
vie Zayinabu Kayitesi

1999-2001 and 2002-03 Minister of State for Social Affairs Dr. Odette Nyiramilimo
Secretary General of the Liberal Party or PL (Prosper HIGIRO) political party since 2001.

2001-02 Minister of State for Environmental Protection in the Ministry of Lands, Human Resettlements and Environmental Protection
03 Minister of State for Forestry
2003-06 Minister of Lands, the Environment, Forestry, Water and Natural Resources Drocella Mugorewera

2002-03 Minister of Gender and Women’s Development Marie Mukantabana

2002-14 Minister in the President's Office Soline Nyirahabimana

2003-06 Minister of Justice Edda Mukabagwiza
Former Secretary General of the Ministry.

2003-08 Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister in charge of Gender and Family Promotion Valerie Ntirahabineza (Nyirahabineza)

2003-14 Minister of State of Community Development and Social Affairs Christine Nyatanyi

2003-06 Minister of State of Primary and Secondary Education Dr. Maria Jeanne d'Arc Mujawamariya
2006-08 Minister of Education
2008-11 Minister of Gender Affairs and Equality

2003-08 Minister of State of Lands and Environment in the Ministry of Lands, Environment, Forestry, Water and Natural Resources Patricia Hajabakiga

2003-08 Minister of State of Economic Planning in the Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning
2008-14 Minister of Commerce Monique N'Sanzabaganwa

2004-08 Minister of State of Agriculture Daphrose Gahakwa
2008-09 Minister of Education
, Science, Technology and Research

2005-08 Minister of State of Cooperation in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Rosemary Museminari
2008-09 Minister of Foreign Affairs
Ambassador to United Kingdom, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden and the Republic of Ireland 2000-05. (b. 1962-).

2008-09 Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister charged with Information Louise Mushikiwabo
2009- Minister of Foreign Affairs

2008-14 Minister responsible for the East African Community Monique Mukaruliza
2008-12 Chairperson of the Council of Ministers of East African Community
The Rwandan President assumed the Presidency of the ECA in 2008.

2008-14 Minister of Infrastructure Linda Bihire

2008-09 Minister of State for Agriculture Agnes Kalibata
2009-14 Minister for Agriculture
Former Secretary General of the Ministry

2010-11 Minister of State for Energy Colletha Ruhamya

2013-16 Minister of Family and Gender Promotion Oda Gasinzigwa

2013- Minister of Refugees and Disaster Management Seraphine Mukantabana

2013-14 Minister of State in the Ministry of Health in charge of Publich Health and Primary Health Care Dr. Anita Asiimwe

2014- Minister in the Presidency Office Venantie Tugireyezu

2014- Minister of Cabinet Affairs in the Office of the Prime Minister Stella Ford Mugabo

2014-16 Minister of the East African Community Valentine Rugwabiza
Appointed Ambassador to the UN in 2016.

2014- Minister of Agriculture and Animal Resources Geraldine Mukeshimana

2014- Minister of Public Service and Labour Judith Uwizeye 

2014-16 Minister of Health Agnes Binagwaho

2014- Minister of State in the Ministry of Infrastructure in charge of Energy and Water Germaine Kamayirese

2014- Minister of State in the Ministry of Local Government in charge of Social Affairs and Community Development Alivera Mukabaramba

2016- Minister of Culture and Sports Julienne Uwacu

2016- Minister of Health Diane Gashumba

2016- Minister of Gender and Family Promotion Esperance Nyirasafari

Last update 10.10.16