Philippines Parliament

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Parliament of the Philipines

Also see Philippine Ministers

The Congress/Kongreso consists of the House of Representatives/Kapulungan Mga Kinatawan
 and the Senate/Senado

1987-88 President of the Constitutional Commission Cecilia Muńoz Palma
She was head of the Appointed 48 member body which drafted the new constitution after the People’s Power-revolution. First female prosecuter 1947-54, district and court of appeal judge before becoming the first female Judge of the Supreme Court 1973-78. She lived (1913-2006).

1987 and 1995 Assistant Majority Floor Leader of the Congress Teresa Aquino Oreta

1993-96 President pro Tempore Lecitia Ramos-Shahani
Former Undersecretary of Foreign Affairs

1998-2001 Deputy Speaker of the Congress Daisy Avance-Fuentes
Elected Governor of a State in 2001

2007-10 Deputy Speaker of the Congress
Amelita Villarosa

2010- Deputy Speaker of the Congress Maria Isabella G. Climaco


Last update 30.08.10