Pakistan Parliament

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Pakistan Parliament

Also see Pakistan Ministers

1972-77 and 1988-90 Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly Dr. Begum Ashraf Abbasi
Member of the PPP

1991-1993 Deputy Chairperson of the Senate Dr. Noor Jehan Panezai
Noorjehan Panezai trained as as medical doctor, elected as a member of the National Assembly, against one of the special seats for women in 1985. Only female senator in 1988-94, Minister for Health, Social Welfare and Women Division in the caretaker government in 1990. Later MP again. (b. 1949-).

2008-13 Speaker of the National Assembly Dr. Fahmida Mirza
Also known as Fehmida, she is a medical doctor, and has been MP for Pakistan People's Party since 1997. There was speculation that the PPP would field her as Presidential Candidate after the resignation of Musharraf, Azra Pechaho, the sister of PPP-co-chair
Asif Ali Zardari (widower of Benazir Bhutto) was also mentioned, Pechaho was also among the 5 party-internal contenders for the post of Prime Minister earlier in the year, but in the end Zardari was nominated as presidential candidate himself and later elected. In 2008 she became the first woman to act as state president during the absence of the President of Senate President from the country at the same time. (b. 1956-).

Last update 06.06.13