Mauritius Ministers

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Republic of Mauritius (Female Suffrage 1947) A Dutch Colony 1638-1710, French Colony 1715-1810, British Colony 1810-1968, independence 1968 and a republic 1992

Also see Mauritius Parties

1968-92 Elizabeth the second, Queen of Mauritius and of Her other Realms and Territories, Head of the Commonwealth (12.03-12.03)
Queen of The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland since 1952

1975-76 Minister of Women's Affairs, Prizes and Consumer's Affairs Radhamanay Roonoosarny

1982-83 Minister of Justice and Attorney General, Minister of Women's Rights and Family Affairs Shirin Aumeeruddy-Cziffra
Also known as Ameeruddy-Cziffra, she was the f
rist female Muslim MP for 15 years, Mayor of Beau Bassin-Rose Hill 1987, Ambassador to France, Italy, Spain, Portugal, UNESCO and the Francophonie 1992-95 and President of both the Conseil Permanent de la Francophonie and the board of the Agence pour la Francophonie 1994-95 and Ombudsperson for Children from 2003.

1983-95 Minister of Women's Affairs and Family Shielabai Bappoo
1987-89 Minister of Labour and Industrial Relations (Third in cabinet)
1991-95 Minister of Welfare and Child Development (Fourth in cabinet)
2005-10 Minister of Social Security,
National Solidarity, Senior Citizens Welfare and Reform Institutions
2010-14 Minister of Equality, Gender Affairs, Child Development and Family
Normally known as Sheila, she was President of Partie Mouvement Militant Mauricien in 1973, From 1996 Secretary General of Mouvement Socialiste Mauricien, of which she had been a member since 1983. Later Women's Secretary of the Labour Party of Mauritius. (b. 1961-)

1988-90 Minister of Civil Service and Employment France Maria Roussetry
From 1996 Ambassador to France and Spain.

1995-2000 Minister for Women, Family Welfare and Child Development Indira Sauitree Tachoor Sidaya

1995-98 Minister of Social Security and National Solidarity Marie-Thérèse Joceline Minerve

1995-2000 Junior Minister of Urban- and Rural Development Monique Agnès Ohsan-Bellepeau
2010-16 Vice-President
2012 Acting President
2015 Acting President

Président of the parti travailliste until 2010.

1995-97 Minister-Delegate of Foreign Affairs, Regional and International Cooperation
05 Minister for Women, Family Welfare and Child Development
Marie Arianne Navarre-Marie
MP 1982-83 and
again since 1997, She was Vice-Secretary General of Mouvement Militant Mauricien, MMM. In February 2005 she was Acting Foreign Minister. (b. 1961-)

1995-96 Minister-Delegate of Regional Administration Anne-Marie Danielle Perrier
1995-97 Minister-Delegate of Environment and Quality of Life
2004-05 Parliamentary Private Secretary
President of the District Council of R. Noire 1993-94

1998-2000 Minister of Youth and Sports Marie Claude Arouff-Parfait

2000 Deputy Government Whip Leela Devi Dookun-Luchoomun
2000-04 Parliamentary Private Secretary
2004-05 Minister of Arts and Culture
2010-11 Minister of Social Security, National Solidarity and Institutional Reform
2014-  Minister of Education and Human Resources, Tertiary Education and Scientific Research

2004-05 Parliamentary Private Secretary Marie Noelle Françoise Labelle

2005-10 Minister of Women's Rights, Child Development, Family Welfare and Consumer's Protection Indranee Seebun
Mayor of Vacoas/Phoenix en 1997/9, later
President of the Council of the District du Nord and MP since 2000.

2005-08 Deputy Chief Government Whip Kalyanee Bedwantee Juggoo
Parliamentary Private Secretary

2010-11 Minister of Health and the Quality of Life Maya Hanoomanjee
Speaker of the National Assembly from 2014.

2010-14 Junior Minister of Environment Prateebah Koomaree Bholah

2010-14 Parliamentary Private Secretary Maria Francesca Mireille Martin

2011-14 Parliamentary Private Secretary Fazila Daureeawoo
2014-17 Minister of Social Security, National Solidarity and Reform Institutions
2017- Minister of Gender Equality, Child Development and Family Welfare

2014-16 Minister of Gender Equality, Child Development and Family Welfare Marie-Aurore Marie-Joyce Perraud

2014- Parliamentary Private Secretary Roubina Jadoo-Junbocus

2014- Parliamentary Private Secretary Deveena Boygah

2015- President Ameenah Gurib-Fakim
Professor of Organic chemistry and Pro-vice-chancellor of the University of Mauritius.

Last update