Malta Ministers

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Republic of Malta/ Repubblika ta'Malta
(Female Suffrage 1947) The Island was under the sovereignty of the Knights of Saint John 1530-1798 (Order of Malta) and became a British Protectorate 1982 and was a British Crown Colony from 1814 till it became independent in 1964, a republic 1974

Also see Malta Parliament

1966-74 Elizabeth the second, by the Grace of God Queen of Malta and of Her other Realms and Territories, Head of the Commonwealth (21.09-13.12)
Queen of The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland since 1952

1955-58 Minister of Education and Culture Agatha Barbara
1971-74 Minister of Education and Culture                                           
1974-81 Minister of Labour, Welfare and Culture (Third in Cabinet)
1982-87 President of the Republic
Labour MP 1947-82, Between 1971-81 she as Acting Prime Minister on various brief occasions. She lived (1923-2002)

1995-96 Parliamentary Secretary of Family Affairs in the Ministry of Social Affairs
1998-2013 Minister of Gozo Giovanna Debono (Third in the Cabinet from 2008)
Gozo is an island south of Malta with a degree of self-rule. MP since 1987 and has acted as Prime Minister on a number of occations in the absence of the Chief of Government and his Deputy.  Daughter of Coronato Attard, MP 1965-87. (b. 1956-)

1996-98 Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister of Women’s Rights with Cabinet Status Helene Dalli
2013- Minster of Social Dialogue, Consumer Affairs and Civil Liberties

2003-04 Parliamentary Secretary for the Minister for Social Policy and Leader of the House of Representatives
2004-08 Minister for Family and Social Solidarity
2008-13 Minister of Education
2008-10 Minister of Culture
2010-13 Minister of
2010-12 Minister of Family
Dolores Cristina
Nationalist MP from 1998. In March 2013 the new government appointed her Acting President during the absence of the President from the country

2004-08 Parliamentary Secretary of of Health, the Elderly and Community Care Helene D'Amato
Lost her seat in the 2008-elections.

2013-14 Minister of Social Solidarity and Family Marie-Louise Coleiro Preca
2014- President
Labour MP from 1998. (b. 1958-)

2014- Parliamentary Secretary of State for of Disabilities and Active Ageing Justyne Caruana
Labour MP from 2013. When the government took office in 2013 all 8 parliamentary secretaries were men and 2 of the 14 ministers were women. From 2014 there was one female minister and one female parliamentary secretary.



Last update 04.04.14