Maldive Islands Parties

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
The Republic of the Maldive Islands/ Dhivehi Raajjeygen Jumhuriya (Female Suffrage 1932)A sultanate under protection of the British Crown achieved internal Self-government 1948, it became a republic in 1952 and was independent in 1965

Also see Maldives Ministers

1953-54 Honorary Vice-President of the Peoples' Progressive Party Annabeela Aminath Hussain

1953-54 Honorary Vice-President of the Peoples' Progressive Party´Annabeela Zubeida Mohammed Didi
Junior wife of the Party President.

2008- Parliamentary Group Leader of the Dhivehi Raiyyithunge Party, DRP Aneesa Ahmed
Undersecretary to the Executive Secretary of the President around 1982, Minister of Gender, Family Development and Social Security 2002-04, Minister of Health 2004-05 and Minister of the President's Office 2005-08 and also Deputy Speaker of the Majlis from 2008.

2008-  Chairperson of the Maldivian Democratic Party Mariya Ahmed Didi
MP for Male’ (Kaafu) Atoll


Last update 08.10.09