Lithuania Ministers

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Republic of Lithuania/ Respublika os Lietuva/Lietvos Respublika
(Female suffrage 1918/21) Independent 1918-40 and 11.3.90/6.9.91ithuania Parliament

No information prior to 1955

1959-69 Vice-President Leokadija Diržinskaitė-Piliušenko
1960-76 Deputy Premier in charge of Culture
1960-61 and 1961-76 Minister of Foreign Affairs
Her name is also written as
Leokaida Ivozovna Dirginskaitė-Pihusenko or Pilyushenko. She was a Candidate Member of the Politburo of the Communist Party 1960-62, Vice-Chairperson of the Presidium of the Lithuanian Supreme Soviet 1976-85. (b. 1921-)

1960-71 Minister of Social Affairs I.I. Ianchaitė

Circa 1965 Vice-President A.T. Venclova

Circa 1965 Vice-President E.K. Jakuchaviecienė

1971-73 Head of the Central Committee Department of Trade and Public Service Jaina B. Tatsiavichenė
1973-89 Minister of Social Affairs
Chairperson of the
Naujoji Vilnia Region 1961-71. (b. 1928- )

1989-90 Deputy Premier and Minister of Economy Kasimiera Danutė Prunskienė
1990-91 Premier Minister (17.3-10.1)
2004-08 Minister of Agriculture
She was Chairperson of Democratic Party in 1991, and from 1995-2001 Chairperson of Women’s Party, 1996-2000 Group Chairperson of the independent MP’s, and 2001-04 Chairperson of the Peasants and New Democratic Parties Union. Presidential Candidate in 2002, 2004 and 2009, the second time she finished second in the runoff-elections. (b. 1945-).

1990-91 Government Spokesperson Rita Dabkus

1991-92 Minister of Finance Elvyra Kunevičienė
In 1991 Economic Advisor of the Premier Minister.
(b. 1939-)

1991 Vice-Minister of Trade Laima Liucija Andrikienė
1992-93 Kancleris of The Simas (Secretary General of the Parliament)
1997-98 Minister of European Affairs                                      
1998 Minister of Industry and Trade
Chair of the Presidium of the Baltic Assembly 1998-99. In 1999 she was founding member and became leader of Homeland People’s Party, a breakaway Faction of the Homeland Union
. Member of the European Parliament from 2004. (b. 1958-)

1993-96 Vice-Minister of Economy Filomena Jasevicienė

1994-97 Vice-Minister of Health Irena Degutienė
1997-2000 Minister of Social Affairs, Labour and Women
1999 Acting Premier Minister (3.5-10/18.5)
1999 Acting Premier Minister (27.10-3.11)
Medical Doctor
. First Deputy Speaker of Seimas 2008-09 and Speaker from 2009. (b. 1949-)

1994-96 Vice-Minister Construction and Urban Development Aldona Baransuskienė
1996-97 Minister of Construction and Urban Development
(b. 1947-)

1996-2000 Vice-Minister of Social Affairs and Labour Vilija Blinkevičiū
2000-08 Minister of Social Affairs and Labour
Blinkeviciute was Presidential Candidate in 2004.

1996-2000 Vice-Minister of Finance for Taxes and Accounting Violeta Latvienė

1998-2000 Vice-Minister of Finance L. Urbšienė

1998-2000 Vice-Minister of Agriculture and Forestry Natalija Kazlauskienė

1998-2000 Vice-Minister of Justice Rasa Budbergytė
2001 State Secretary of Interior
Appointed Undersecretary of Interior in 2016-

1999 Government Chancellor Dalia Kuraitė-Giedraitienė

1999-2000 Vice-Minister of Finance Dalia Grybauskaitė
2000-01 Vice-Minister of Foreign Affairs
and Deputy Head of the Lithuanian Delegation for the EU Accession Negotiations
04 Minister of Finance
2004 European Commissioner without Portfolio attatched to the Commissioner for Education and Culture
2004-09 European Commissioner for Financial Programming and Budget
2009- President

Extraordinary Envoy and Plenipotentiary Minister at the Lithuanian Mission to the EU 1994-1995, Plenipotentiary Minister at the Embassy in the USA and Minister for Mexico. (b. 1957-)

1999-2003 Vice-Minister of Culture Ina Marčiulionytė
Ambassador to Unesco 2003-10 before she became Director of a Department in the Ministry of Foreign Affaris

2000-03 Vice-Minister of Public Administrative Reform and Local Authorities Genovaitė Rokicienė

2000-03 and 2009-11 Vice-Minister of Labour and Social Affairs Audronė Morkunienė
Named Undersecretary in charge of Social Insurance in 2003 as part of a rectructuring of the civil service and appointment of political Vice-Ministers.

03 Vice-Minister of Labour and Social Affairs Rasa Melnikienė

2000-03 Vice-Minister of Culture Ina Marciulionytė

2000-03 Vice-Minister of Education and Science Vaiva Radasta Vėbraitė (Vebra)

2001-04 Minister of Culture Roma Douydieinė

2001-04 Vice-Minister of Agriculture Dalia Miniataitė
Appointed Chancellor of the Ministry of Agriculture in 2009.

2001-05 Vice-Minister of Social Affairs and Labour Rasa Melnikienė

2003-08 State Secretary of Culture Diana Paknytė

2006-08 Minister of Education and Science Roma Žakaitienė

2006-08 Vice-Minister of Justice Eglė Radušytė

2006-09 State Secretary of Defence Jūratė Raguckienė
2013- Chancellor of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs

2008-12 Minister of Defence Rasa Juknevičienė
2010 Acting Minister of Foreign Affairs (21.01-11.02)
Deputy Chairperson of the Homeland Union since 1999, MP from 1999 and Assistant Speaker of the of Seimas 1999-2000. (b. 1958-).

2008-12 Vice-Minister of Education and Science Nerija Putinaitė

2008-12 Vice-Minister of Health Nora Ribokienė

2009 Vice-Minister of Finance Ingrida Šimonytė
2009-12 Minister of Finance
Worked in the Ministry from 1997 and Deputy Chairperson fo the Central Bank from 2013. (b. 1974-). 

2009-12 Vice-Minister of Health Janina Kumpienė

2009-12 Vice-Minister of Social Affairs and Labour Audra Mikalauskaitė

2009-10 Vice-Minister of Social Affairs and Labour Jolanta Ramonienė

2010-11 Vice-Minister of Social Affairs and Labour Skirma Kondratas

2010-13 Vice-Minister of Defence Indrė Pociūtė-Levickienė

2012-13 Minister of Economy Birutė Vėsaitė
Social Democratic Party MP from 2000. (b. 1952-)

2012-14 Minister of Social Security and Labour Algimanta Pabedinskienė

2012-14 Vice-Minister of Environment Daiva Matonienė
2014-16 Vice-Minister of Education and Science

2013-16 Vice-Minister of Economy Rasa Noreikienė
Representative of the Government of the Republic of Lithuania in Kaunas Country 2010-13.

2013-14 Vice-Minister of Energy Renata Cytacka

2013-14 Vice-Minister of Energy Žydrūnė Juodkienė

2013-16 Vice-Minister of Education and Science Svetlana Kauzonienė

2013-16 Vice-Minister of Education and Science Genoveita Krasauskienė

2013-16 Vice-Minister of Education and Science Edita Tamošiūnaitė

2013-16 Vice-Minister of Health Jadvyga Zinkevičiūtė

2013-14 Vice-Minister of Agriculture Živilė Pinskuvienė

2013-14 and 2014-16 Vice-Minister of Agriulture Leokadija Počikovska-Janušauskienė
Mayor of the District Municipality of Vilnius 1995-2004.

2013 Vice-Minister of Social Affairs and Labour Angelė Bajorienė

2014 Minister of Agriculture Virginija Baltraitienė

2014-16 Minister of Agriculture Algimanta Pabedinskienė

2014-16 Minister of Health Rimantė Ilze Šalaševičiūtė

2014-16 Vice-Minister of Agriculture Lina Kujalytė

2014-16 Vice-Minister for Education and Science Natalja Istomina

2014-16 Vice-Minister for Health Jadvyga Zinkevičiūtė

2014-16 Vice-Minister for Culture Patricija Poderytė

2015-16 Minister of Education and Science Audrone Pitrėnienė

2015-16 Vice-Minister for Education and Science Genoveita Krasauskienė

2016- Minister of Culturė Liana Ruokyte-Jonsson

2016- Minister of Education and Science Jurgita Petrauskienė

2016- Vice-Minister for Finance Agnė Bagočiūtė

2016- Vice-Minister for Health Jūratė Sabalienė

Last update 31.12.16