Liberia Parties

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Parties of Liberia (Female suffrage 1946) Founded 1822 as a Colony for Freed American Slaves, Independent 1847

Also see Liberia Ministers

1997- Leader of the Unity Party Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf
In 1972-73 and 1977-79 Secretary of State of Finance, 1979-80 Minister of Finance, 1980 President of the National Bank, 1980-85 worked for the World Bank, 1985-86 in house arrest after her return, 1990-92 Leading member of exile-government of Amos Sawyer in United States of America, 1992-97 African Director of the UNDP (United Nations Development Program). From 1997 Leader of the Unity Party. Presidential Candidate in 1997 and 2003 (within the Trasitional Council), she won the elections in november 2005 and took office as President in January 2006. She is divorced, mother of a number of children, and grandmother. (b. 1938-).

2004- Leader of the United Liberians for the Reconciliation and Demokracy (LURD) Ayesha Keita Conneh
She had the backing of dozens of guerrilla commanders in ousting her husband, warlord Sekou Conneh. She said his ambitions were endangering the nation's hard-won peace. She was co-founder and a leader in the rebel movement from the start. (1965-).


Last update 18.01.06