Lebanon Parties

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
The Republic of Lebanon/ Al-Jumhouriya al-Lubnan/Republique de Liban (Female suffrage 195
3) An independent state 1920 administered under French Mandate until 1943

Also see Lebanon Ministers and Lebanon Heads of State

2001- Joint Leader of Qornet Shehwan Gathering Nayla Moawad
In 2004 she intended to run as President, but the parliament changed the constitution and extended the term of the incumbent President without elections. She has been an MP since 1992 after her husband, President René Muawad, was assasssinated in 1989. Minister of Social Affairs from 2005.

2005 Leader of the Future Movement Bahia Hariri
After her brother, the former Prime Minister
Rafik Hariri was assassinated, the Hariri family, her brother's  parliamentary bloc and Future Movement have unanimously pledged allegiance to her as a political successor to her brother. This role was soon taken over by her nephew and she ran as an independent candidate in 2005. She has been MP since 1992 and chaired various commitees. Married and mother of four children.

2005- Leader of the The Lebanese Forces Strida Geagea
Her husband, LF Leader and former Christian Militia-Leader, Samir Geagea, has served several life sentences for crimes allegedly committed during the Lebanese Civil War of 1975-1990 since 1994. He remains the only civil war-era leader to have stood trial for crimes committed during the war. (b. 1967-).




Last update 13.07.08