Jamaica Parliament

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Parliament of Jamaica
(female suffrage 1944)

Also see Jamaica Ministers

The Senate and House of Representatives

1981-83 Deputy President of Senate Jeanette Grant-Woodham
1984-86 President

She was Minister of State of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and Industry 1986-89

Circa 1982 Registrar of the Senate Hazel Harris

Circa 1986-89 Deputy President of Senate Donna Scott-Bhoorasingh

1989-2002 Deputy President of Senate Dorothy Lightbourne
was eputy Chairperson of the Jamaica Labour Party and Shadow Minister for the Jamaica Labour Party around 1999. Attorney General and Minister of Justice from 2007.

1992-98 Deputy President of Senate Courtney Fletcher

1991-97 Deputy Speaker of House of Representatives Violet Nielson
1997-2002 Speaker
She did not run for reelection in 2002.

1992-96 Vice-President of the Senate Syringa Marshall-Burnett
1996-2007 President

1994-2005 Clerk of Houses of Parliament Sharonette Lewis

2005- Clerk of Houses of Parliament Heather Cooke

2007-11 Deputy Speaker of the House of Represenatives Marisa Dalrymple-Philibert
2011 Speaker of the House of Representatives

2012-16 Deputy President of the Senate Angela Rosemarie Brown-Burke
2013 Acting President (10-18. May)
Former Corporate Area Councillor of the Kingston and Saint Andrew Corporation and Mayor of Kingston from 2012, also elected Vice-President of the People's National Party in 2006
. Acting President after her predecessor resigned in order to immigrate to the US.


Last update 06.06.13