Guernesy Ministers

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Bailiwick of Guernsey and the Minor Islands
The minor islands: Alderny and Stark and the minor Islands (Herm, Brechou, Lihou and Jethou) have self-rule but is under "supervision" of the Lieutenant-Governor of Guernsey. The Channel Islands and are United Kingdom Crown Dependencies/Crown fiefdoms The Channel Islands and Isle of Man are not part of the United Kingdom but feudal dependencies of the British crown, lacking sovereignty. The government  is conducted by committees appointed by the States

1837-1901 Victoria By the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland Queen, Defender of the Faith, Empress of India.
She lived (1818-1901)

1952- Elizabeth II By the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and of Her other Realms and Territories Queen, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith [La Reine Elizabeth II, Duc de Normandie]

Circa 1998-2000 President of the Committee for Heritage Carole Fletcher

Circa 1998-2000 Chairman of the Health Board Sue Plant

Circa 1998-2003 President of the Probation Service Committee Deputy Jean Pritchard
Circa 2000-04 President of the Children Board
In 2004 she was candidate for the post of Minister of Social Security but lot by one vote, and was instead elected Chairperson of the parliamentary Scrutiny Committee.

Circa 1998-2000 President of a Committee Mary M.  Lowe
2004-07 Minister of Social Security
2007-12 Vice-Chairperson of the Constitutional Committee
2016- President of the Home Affairs Committee
She was the only woman in the the new Ministerial Cabinet introduced was in force 2004-16. There were 10 male members. In 2012 she was unsuccessful in her bit for the post of
Social Security minister and Constitution Committee Chair and for membership of 3 other committess. She is the longest serving member of the States.

Circa 2000-03 President of the Public Assistance Authority Deputy Ann Leslie Robilliard

Circa 2000-12 President of the Island Reception Committee
2003-04 President of the Public Assistance Authority Deputy Patricia Robilliard

Circa 2000-03 President of Sea Fisheries Committee Deputy Claire Helen Le Pelley
2003-04 President of the Heritage Committee
16 Deputy Minister of
Culture and Leisure Department
From 2004 Chairperson of the parliamentary Legislation Committee of the States.

2000-04 President of the Arts Committee Deputy Judith Mary Beaugeard
Also Vice-President of the Probation Service Committee

Circa 2000-03 President of Liberation Celebrations Committee 2003- President of the Traffic Committee Patricia Mellor
Vice-President of a number of other Committees

2003-ca. 2015 Her Majesty's Sheriff Carole Goubert

2005-08 Deputy Minister of Commerce and Employment and Member of the Culture and Leisure Department
2008-12 Minister of Commerce and Employment
Carla S. McNulty Bauer
Candidate for the post of Chief Minister in 2008.

2005-08 Deputy Minister of Education Wendy Jean Morgan
One of the candidates tipped for the job of chief minister, but instead lost her seat in the 2008-elections. Her husband, Laurie Morgan, was Chief Minister 2004-07.

2007-08 Minister of Social Security Diane Lewis
Did not run for re-election in 2008.

2008-12 Minister of Education Carol Steere
Deputy 1985-2000 and from 2008.

2012-16 Chairperson of the Public Accounts Committee Heidi Soulsby
2014-16 Deputy Minister of Health and Social Services
2016- President of the Committee of Health and Social Care

2014-16 Minister of Environment Yvonne Burford

2016- Member Policy and Resources Committee Jane Stephens
The 5 person Committee is the main decision making body that replaced the previous ministerial system.

2016 Designate Member of Policy and Resources Committee Lindsay de Sausmarez
She was proposed by the President of the Policy and Resources Committee (Chief of Government), but rejected by the States.

2016- President of the Overseas Aid and Development Commission Emilie Yerby


Last update 14.05.16