Greenland Ministers

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Greenland/Grønland/ Kalaallit Nuaat
(Female suffrage 1948) Danish External territory. Part of Rigsfælleskabet, the Commonwealth of the Realm with Home Rule 1979-2009 and Self-Rule from 2009. The Inuits are from then on recognized as a separate people.

Also see Greenland Parliament

1959-79 Member of the Landsråd Elisabeth Johansen
1971-79 President-by-Age
A trained midwife, she was the only female member of the advisory council witch advised the Danish administration of the island. Her son, Lars Emil Johansen was Premier of Greenland (1993-99). She lived (1907-93)

1972- Kunung Arnak (Female King) Margrethe II, Queen of Denmark
(b. 1940-)

1983-84 Minister for Social Conditions Agnete Johanne Davidsen
Deputy Chairperson of Siumut (Social Democrats) 1989-2007, Deputy Mayor 1991-93 and Mayor of Nuuk (Nuup) (The Capital) 1993-2007, member of the Landsting 1995-97. She lived (1947-2007)

1991-95 Minister for Social Affairs Henriette Rasmussen
1992-95 Minister for Labour
2003-05 Minister for
Culture, Education, Research, Church Affairs
In 1984-95 Member of the Landsting and 1987-91 its Vice-Chairperson. 1995-96 Advisor to the UN-High-Commissioner for Human Rights and 1996-2000 Advisor of International Labour Organization, ILO, for Aboriginal Affairs, from 2001 director for Atuakkiorfik, 2002-03 Member of the Landsting, it's Presidium and various committees. (b. 1950-)

1991-95 Minister for Culture, Education, Church Affairs Marianne Jensen
1991-92 Minister for Labour
1992-99 Minister for Research and Nordic Co-operation
1995-99 Minister for Environment and Health
In 1990-91 Mayor of Ililussat/Jakobshavn, member of Landstinget since 1995. (b. 1956-)

1995-97 Minister for Social Affairs and Labour Benedikte Thorsteinson
In 1989-95 Deputy Mayor of Qaqortoq. Her daughter Inga Dora Gudmundsdottir (born 1971) has been 2. Deputy Mayor of Nuuk since 1997. (b. 1950-)

1999-2002 Minister for Culture, Education, Research, Church Affairs and Nordic Cooperation Lise Skifte Lennert
Headmaster of a School in Nuuk 1997-99. (b. 1948-)

2001-02 Minister for Economy Augusta Salling (Second in Cabinet)
2003 Vicelandsstyreformand (Vice-Premier) and Minister for Finance and Economy
She was mayor of Qeqartarsuaq 1993-97, Member of the Landsting for the liberal Atassut Party from 1999, Party Chairperson 2002-05 and
2. Vice-Chairperson of the Landsting since 2005. (b. 1954-).

2002-02 Minister for Culture, Education, Research and Church Affairs Ruth Thomsen Heilmann  
2003 Minister for Health and Family Affairs
Mayor of Maniitsoq 1997-2001, 1. Vice-Chairperson of the Parliament 1995-98, 4. Vice-Chairperson 2005-08 and Chairperson 2008-09. (b. 1945-).

2002-03 and 2003-06 Minister for Health Asii Chemnitz Narup
2002-03 and 2003-05 Minister for Family Affairs
2005-06 Minister for Environment
During her first tenure in office, she was in charge of the Department which among others includes the Directorate of Social Affairs and Labour for little more than a month - from December January. Member of the Parliament for the leftwing
Inuit Ataqatigiit. She resigned from the government. Elected Mayor of the East-West Municipality (Kangia-Kitaa Kommunimi or Øst-Vest Kommunen) in 2008, which includes the capital of Nuuk after the local government reform from 1 January 2009. (b. 1954-).

2005-06 and 2016- Minister for Culture, Education, Church and Research Doris Jakobsen
2014-15 and 2015-16 Minister for Health and Nordic Affairs
MP for the social democratic Siumut since 2001 and
2. Vice-Chairperson of the Landsting 2004-05. She was fired from the government but was later 1. party Vice-Person. Member of the Danish Folketing 2011-14 and in 2015. (b. 1978-).

2005-07 Minister for Family Affairs and Justice Aleqa Hammond
2007-08 Minister for Finance and External Affairs
2013-14 Prime Minister and Minister for External Affairs (Naalakkersuisuni siulittaasoq/ Formand for Naalakkersuisut/ Landsstyreformand)
Member of Parliament for the social democratic Siumut. In 2009 she became Chairperson of Siumut after the former Premier resigned after loosing the parliamentary elections. Resigned herself in 2014 after misuse of public funds. (b. 1965-).

2006-07 Minister for Culture, Education, Church and Research
Agathe Fontain
2009-13 Minister for Health
2016- Minister for Health, Prevention and Nordic Cooperation
Member of the Municipal Council of
Sisimiut since 1997 and Member of the Landsting from 2002 and it's 1. Vice-Chairperson 2005-06 and 2013-16.

Circa 2008-14 Deputy High Commissioner Louise Amkær
Acting High Commissioner on various occations 

2009-13 Minister for Fisheries, Hunting and Agriculture Ane Hansen
Deputy Mayor 1993-97, Mayor 1997-2001 and 2. Deputy Mayor of Aasiaat 2001-09, Member of the Presidium and 2005-06, 1. Vice-Chairperson of the Landsting 2006-09. (b. 1961-).

2009-16 Minister for Culture and Church Affairs Mimi Karlsen
2009-11 Minister for Education, Research
2011-13 Minister for Family and Gender Equality

Deputy Mayor of Maniitsoq 2005-09.

2009-11 Minister for Family Affairs and Gender Equality Maliina Abelsen
2011-13 Minister for Finance
(b. 1976-).

2011- High Commissioner Michaela Engell
Before she was appointed Rigsombudsmand i Grønland, she worked in the Greenland Home Rule administration since 1995 as Director of Foreign Affairs (Udenrigsdirektør) 2001-05 and Chief Advisor for Greenland and Arctic Affairs in the Danish Foreign Ministry. (b. 1956-)

2013-14 Minister for Justice and Family Affairs Martha Lund Olsen
2014 Acting Minister for Health, Education, Church, Culture and Equality
2014-16 Minister for Social Affairs, Family and Equality
2015 Acting Minister for Health
2016 Minister for Justice
2016- Minister of Municipalities, Villages, Infrastructure and Housing

2013 Minister for Housing, Nature, Environment and Nordic Cooperation
Mette Lynge
Her party, Partii Inuit, left the coalition after 7 months.

2014-16 Minister of Education, Culture, Research and Church Affairs Nivi Olsen

2016 1. Vice-Prime Minister and Minister of Finance and Natural Resources Randi Vestergaard Evaldsen
Vice-Chair 2014-16 and Chairperson of Demokraatit from 2016. (b. 1984-)

2016- Minister for Social Affairs, Family, Equality and Justice Sara Olsvig (Second in Cabinet)
Member of the Danish Parliament 2011-16 and the Greenland's Assembly from 2013 and  Chairperson of Inuit Ataqatigiit since 2014. (b. 1979-)

2016- Minister for Independence, Environment, Nature and Agriculture Suka K. Frederiksen.

Last update 26.10.16