Germany Parliament

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Parliament of German
y Until 1945 the parliament was known as the Reichstag. Since then the German Federal Parliament consists of the Bundesrat/ Federal Council and Bundestag/ Federal Assembly

Also see East Germany Parliament  and Germany Ministers and German Reichstag (For certain women with the right of vote in the Richstag until 1803)

1925-33 Secretary of the Presidium of the Reichstag Christine Teusch
In 1919 she was member of the Nationalversamlung, 1920-33 of the Reichstag for Zemtrum, 1946-66 member of the Landtag (Assembly) and 1947-54 Minister of Culture in the State of Nordrhein-Westphalen. She lived (1888-1968)

1932-33 President-by-Age of the Reichstag Clara Zetkin
Communist, Member of the Landrat of Württemberg 1918-20 and Member of the Reichstag 1920-33. She lived (1857-1933)

1953-57 President-by-Age of the Bundestag Marie-Elisabeth Lüdders
Former Minister in a State Government and
Honorary President of Freie Demokratische Partei, FDP, 1957-61, and lived (1888-1966)

1965-67 Vice-President of the Bundestag Dr. Maria Probst
CDU Member of the Bavarian Landtag 1946-49, of the Federal Assembly 1949-67 and of the European Parliament 1958-66. She lived (1902-67).

1969-79 Vice-President of the Bundestag Liselotte Funcke
Former Minister of Economics in Nordrhein-Westphalen and Federal Government Commissioner of Immigration 1981-91. (b. 1918-).

1972-76 President of the Bundestag Annemarie Renger
1976-90 Vice-President of the Bundestag
Parliamentary Secretary General of Socialdemokratische Partei Deutschlands, SDP (Social Democrats) 1969-72 and her party's Presidential Candidate in 1979. She lived (1919-2008).

1988-98 President of the Bundestag Prof. Dr. Rita Süssmuth
Federal Minister of Youth, Family and Health 1984-88. (b. 1937-)

1990-94 Vice-President of the Bundestag Renate Schmidt
Deputy Chairperson of the SPD Faction 1987-90, Chairperson of the SPD of Bayern and Federal Minister for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth 1999-2005. (b. 1943-).

1994-2005 3. Vice-President of the Bundestag Pastorin Dr. Antje Vollmer
Spokesperson of the Grüne Faction 1991-94. (b. 1943-).

1997-98 Vice-President of the Bundestag Michaela Geiger
Parliamentary Secretary of State of International Co-operation 1991-93 and of Defence 1993-97. She died of cancer, and lived (1943-98).

1997-98 and 2005- Secretary of the Bundesrat Karin Schubert
Minister of Justice of Sachsen-Anhalt 1994-2002 and
Deputy Reigning Mayor, Senator of Justice and Mayor of Berlin since 2002. (b. 1944-).

1998-2002 1. Vice-President of the Bundestag Anke Fucks
Former Minister and Parliamentary Secretary General of the SPD. (b. 1937-)

1998-2002 4. Vice-President of the Bundestag Petra Bläss
In 1998 Leading Candidate for PDS (Reformed Communists) by the Land-elections of Sachsen-Anhalt.
(b. 1964-)

2002-05 1. Vice-President of the Bundestag Susanne Kastner
05- 3. Vice-President of the Bundestag
Parliamentary Secretary General of SPD 1998-2002. (b. 1946-).

2003-04 3. Vice-President of the Bundesrat Heide Simonis
[2005 Designate President of the Bundesrat]
She was Premier of Schleswig-Holstein 1993-2005 until she lost reelection when a member of her own party did not vote for her. Had she been reelected, she would have been the first woman to be President of the Bundesrat 01.11.05-31.10.06, when the post belonged to her state. Instead her male successor became President - and Deputy Head of State. (b. 1943-).

2003-05 Secretary of the Bundesrat Anne Lütkes
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Justice, Women, Youth and Family in Schleswig-Holstein 2000-05 and Parliamentary Leader of Bündnis 90/Grüne in the Landtag since 2005. (b. 1948-).

2003-? Secretary of the Bundesrat Dr. Beate Merk
Minister of Justice of Bavaria 2003-13 and Minister of European Affairs and Regional Relations from 2013. (b. 1957-).

2005-11 1. Vice-President of the Bundestag Gerda Hasselfeldt
Federal Minister of Urban Planning, Housing and Construction 1989-91, Federal Minister of Health 1991-92 and from 20002 Deputy Chairperson of the CDU/CSU Faction in the Federal Assembly and Chairperson of the CSU Group in the Bundestag from 2011. (b.1951-).

2005-06 5. Vice-President of the Bundestag Katrin Göring-Eckardt
2006-09 6.
Vice-President of the Bundestag
2009-13 5. Vice-President of the Bundestag

Parliamentary Secretary General of Bündnis '90/Die Grünen 1998-2002 and 2002-05 Co-Faction Chairperson, Praeses of the synod of the Evangelical Church in Germany 2009-13, joint candidate for the post of Federal Chancellor for the 2013-elections and Joint-Parliamentary Chairperson form 2013. (b. 1966-).

2006-09 5. Vice-President of the Bundestag Petra Pau
2009-13 4. Vice-President of the Bundestag
2013- 5. Vice-President of the Bundestag
Deputy Chairperson of PDS in Berlin 1991-92, Chairperson 1992-2001, Federal Vice-Chairperson 2000-02, Vice-Chairperson of the Parliamentary Faction of PDS in the Bundestag 2000-02 and from 2005 Faction Deputy Leader of Die Linke. (b. 1963-).

2007-16 Secretary of the Bundesrat Angela Kolb-Janssen
Minister of Justice in Sachsen-Anhalt 2006-16 (b. 1963-).

2010-11 President of the Bundesrat Hannelore Kraft
2011-12 1. Vice-President of the Bundesrat

Member of the Landtag of NRW since 2000, Minister of Federal- and European Affairs 2001-05 and Minister of Science and Research in 2005, Parliamentary Leader of the Social Democrats 2005-20, State Chairperson of the party from 2007 and from 2009 Federal Vice-Chairperson and from 2010 Minister President of Nordrhein-Westfalen and as such President of the Council of the States from 01.11.2010 to 31.10.2011. (b. 1961-).

2013- 3. Vice-President of the Bundestag Edelgard Bulmahn
MP since 1987, Chairperson of SPD in Niedersachsen 1998-2003, Minister of Education and Science 2005-09. (b. 1951-)

2013- 4. Vice-President of the Bundestag Ulla Schmidt
Social Democrat MP since 1990, Minister of Health and Social Security 2001-09. (b. 1949-)

2013- 6. Vice-President of the Bundestag Claudia Roth
MP 1998-2001 and from 2002, Co-Chairperson of Bündnis '90/Die Grünen 2001-02 and 2004-13. (b. 1955-)

2015-16 2. Vice-President of the Bundesrat Malu Dreyer
2016-17 President
2017-18 Designate 1. Vice-President
Minister of Social Affairs and Family 2002-13 and Minister-President of Rheinland-Pfalz from 2013. (b. 1961-)


Last update 30.10.16