Fiji Parliament

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Parliament of the Republic of Fiji
(Female suffrage ((1929) 1962)) British Colony 1874-1970, Independent 1970 and a Republic in 1987 

See also Fiji Heads and Fiji Ministers

The Great Council of Chiefs, Bose Levu Vakaturafa (BLV) is the highest authority in the country

The Parliament consists of the Senate and House of Representatives

1994-95 Chairperson of the Great Council of Chiefs Adi Samanunu Cakobau Tolakuli
2000 Chairperson of the Council of Chiefs (Bose Levu Vakaturaga)
Concurrently Minister of Fijian Affairs and Regional Development,
1997 and 2004 considered as Vice-President of the Republic. She is a High Chiefess, and since 1999 Ambassador to Malaysia, Thailand and the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific. During the 2000-coup d’etat, she presided over the Bose ni Turagua, which consists of 200 junior chiefs, Heads of Yaunsa, which meets in times of crises (Last time was during the coup d’etat in 1987). In 2001 the Fijian government proposed her as High Commissioner – Ambassador – to United Kingdom, but the British government refused to accept her appointment because of her involvement in the coup d’etat. She lived (1940-2012).

1998-2000 Secretary of the House Mary Chapman

Circa 1998-2000 Secretary General of the House Matelita Nagataleru
2000- Acting Secretary of the House

1999-2003 Deputy Chairperson of The Great Council of Chiefs Adi Litai Cakubau, The Tavua Chief
2000 Deputy Presiding Officer of the Bose Levu Vakaturaga
Minister of Culture 1984-95. She is sister of Adi Samanunu Cakobau Tolakuli and member of the Chiefly House in Bau
as the Tavua Chief. In 2003 the Assistant Fijian and Rotuman Affairs Minister, Adi Finau Tabukaucaro, ran as her successor as Deputy Chair. 2004 media reports claimed that she was the government's choice for the post of Vice-President of the republic, but she was not interested.

1999-(2000) Deputy Chairperson of the Senate Jokapeci Tagi Elizabeth Koroi
Vice-President 1985-91 and President of Labour since 1991. Senator from 1999 but after the 2001-elections she and the other Labour-senators boycotted the sessions.

2014- Speaker of the Parliament Dr. Jiko Luven
Interim Minister of Health, Women, Social Welfare 2008-14 and President of the Fiji First Party from 2014. (b. 1946-)


Last update 14.01.17