European Parliament

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Parliament of the European Union
(Until 2014)

See also European Union

1962-64 Vice-President Käte Stobel (Germany)

1974-77 Vice-President Baroness Tweedsmuir (UK)

1979 President-by-Age Louise Weiss (France)
She lived (1893-1983)

1979-85 President Simone Veil (France)

1982 Vice-President Danielle de March

1982-87 Vice-President Baroness Elles (UK)

1982-89 Vice-President Maria Luisa Cassanmagnago Cerretti (Italy)
European Co-President of the ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly 1992-94. 

1984-97 Vice-President Nicole Péry (France)
Vice-President of the Socialist Group 1994-97 and Secretary of State in France from 1998.

1984-94 2. Vice-President Nicole Fontaine (France)
1994-99 1. Vice-President
1999-2002 President

1989-94 Vice-President Maria Magnani Noya (Italy)
Italian Undersecretary  1980-83.

1994-97 Vice-President Ursula Schleicher (Germany)

1997-99 Vice-President Magdalene Hoff (Germany)
Member of European Parliament since 1979 (PES-Faction), Chairperson of the EP-Delegation for relations to the Community of New Independent States 1989-1994. (b. 1940)

1999-2002 Vice-President Marie-Noëlle Lienemann (France)
French Minister-Delegate of Housing 1993-95 .

1999-2004 Quaesteur Mary Banotti (Ireland)
Irish Presidential Candidate 1997.

1999-2007 Quaesteur Goedelive Quisthoudt-Rowohe (Germany)
Conservative MEP.  

2002-04 Vice-President Charlotte Cederchiöld (Sweden)

2002-04 Vice-President Catherine Lalumière (France)
French Secretary of State by Premier Minister for Civil Service and Administrative Reform 1981, Minister of Consumer Affairs 1981-83, Secretary of State of Finance for Consumer Affairs 1983-84 and Secretary of State of Foreign Affairs for European Affairs 1984-86. In 1989-94 Secretary General of European the Council, 1995-97 Vice-Chairperson and 1997-99 Chairperson of the European Radical Alliance Group of the European Parliament. (b. 1934-)  

2002-04 Quaesteur Miet Smet (Belgium)
Secretary of State of Environment and Equality 1985-92, Minister of Labour, Employment and Equality 1992-99 and from 2002 Minister of State.

2004-09 Vice-President Sylvia-Yvonne Kaufmann (Germany)
Deputy Chairperson of the Faction of the Left/Nordic Greens in The European Parliament.

2004-07 and 2009-12 Vice-President Dagmar Roth-Behrendt (Germany)
MEP from 1989.

2004-07 Quaestor Genowefa Grabowska (Poland)
Socialist MEP.

2004-14 Quaestor Astrid Lulling (Luxembourg)
Member of Parliament 1965-89 and 1999, President of the Parliamenary Group of Parti social-démocrate 1974-79, Member of the European Parliament 1965-74 and since 1989. From 2004 Quaestor of the Parliament. She ran as an "independent" conservative candidate, breaking the deal between the leaders of the Socialist, Conservative and Liberal groups giving two seats to the first two groups and one to the last. The liberal candidate, Finland's former Prime Minister Anneli Jäätteenmaki, therefore, was not elected. (b. 1929-)

2004-09 Quastor Mia De Vits (Belgium)
Socialist MEP

2007-12 1. Vice-President Rodi Kratsa-Tsagaropoulou (Greece)

2007-12 Vice-President Diana Wallis (United Kingdom)
Candidate for the post of President of the Parliament in 2012 for the Liberal Party.

2007-09 Vice-President Luisa Morgantini (Italy)

2007-09 Vice-President Mechtild Rothe (Germany)

2009-14 Vice-President Roberta Angelilli (Italy)

2009-14 Vice-President Isabelle Durant (Belgium)
Belgian 4. Vice-Premier and Minister of Transport and Mobility 1999-2003

2009-11 Vice-President Silvana Koch-Mehrin (Germany)
Vice-Chairperson of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe

2009-14 Quaestor Lidia Geringer de Oedenberg (Poland)

2012-14 4. Vice-President Anni Podimata (Greece)

2014- Quaestor Elisabeth Morin-Chartier (France)
Présidente du conseil régional of Poitou-Charentes 2002-2004

2014- Quaestor Catherine Bearder (United Kingdom)

Last update 04.07.14