Bahamas Ministers Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Female Ministers of The Commonwealth of The Bahamas (Female Suffrage 1961/64)British Colony 1763-1973, which had already got its own parliament in 1728 and achieved internal autonomy in 1964, before becoming an independent Constitutional Monarchy in 1973

See also Bahamas Heads for Queen, Governor General and Deputies, and Bahamas Parliament

1968-69 Minister without Portfolio and Leader of the Government in the Senate Dame Doris Louise Johnson
1969-72 Minister of Transport
As Speaker of the Senate 1973-83 she was also Acting Governor General, that is Deputy Head of State. She lived (1921-83)

1973- Elizabeth the Second, by the Grace of God, Queen of The Commonwealth of The Bahamas and of Her other Realms and Territories, Head of the Commenwealth (10.7-)
Queen of The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland since 1952. (b. 1926- )

1980-86 Secretary to the Cabinet Margaret E. McDonald
She was Ambassador to United States, Organization of American Countries, Jamaica and several Latin American Countries 1986-92. She lived (1922-2001)

1987-92 Minister of Youth and Sport Pamela Gordon

1988-92 Parliamentary Secretary to the Cabinet Office Ruby Ann Darling

1992-94 Minister of Social Services, National Insurance and Housing Janet Gwenett Bostwick
1994-95 Minister of Justice and Immigration
1994-95 Attorney General
1994-2002 Minister of Foreign Affairs
1995-2002 Minister of Women's Affairs
1999-2001 Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs 
Crown Councel 1971-74, Crown Prosecutor 1972-74. In 1977 she was the first female MP and was defeated in the 2002-elections. 1998 she was the first woman to act as Prime Minister during the absence from the country of both the Premier and Vice-Premier, she later acted on various other occations. Married to The Hon. John Bostwick who was President of the Senate 1992-2002, they are parents of 3 children. (b. 1939-)

1992-2001 Leader of The Government in the Senate Dr. Ivy Leona Dumont
1992 Minister of Works and Utilities
1992-94 Minister of Social Affairs and Environment
1994-95 Minister of Health and Environment
1995-2001  Minister of Education, Youth (Created Dame)
1995-99 Minister of  Sport and Culture
2001-02 Acting Governor-General (13.11-01.01)
2002-05 Governor General (Rt. Hon.) (01.01-30.11)

Deputy Permanent Secretary in Ministry of Works and Utilities 1975- 78, Secretary General of The National Movement Party 1990-92 and senator for a number of years. In 1999 she acted as Foreign Minister during the absence of the minister. (b. 1930- )

1992-94 Minister of Transport and Communication Theresa Maria Moxey-Ingraham
1994-95 Minister of Social Development and National Insurance
1995-97 Minister of Health and Environment
1997-99 Minister of Labour, Immigration and Training 
1999-2000 Minister of Agriculture, Commerce and Industry
Leader of the Opposition in the Senate 1986-92. (b. 1956-)

1997-2001 Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Finance and Planning Daphne Annette Duncombe-Cooper

2001-02 Parliamentary Secretary in the Office of the Premier Minister Lindy Tornquest Russell

2002-07 Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Security Cynthia A. Pratt
2005 Acting Prime Minister and Acting Minister of Finance (03.05-22.06)
Also known as "Mother" Pratt. As Minister of Security she was in charge of the Defence Force and Police. She was Opposition Whip 1997-2002 and  Deputy Leader of the Opposition 1998-2002 and 2007-09 as Deputy Leader of the Progressive Liberal Democratic Party 2002-09. Acting Prime Minister on a number of occations when the Prime Minister was abroad. When he suffered a stroke in May 2005 she took over his tasks. She is a former nurse, she is mother of 6 children (b. 1945-).

2002-06 Minister of Financial Services and Investments Allyson Maynard-Gibson
2006-07 and 2012- Attorney General, Minister of Legal Affairs and Leader of the Government in the Senate
In June 2002 she acted as Foreign Minister during the absence of the minister, MP 2002-07, Senator from 2007 and Leader of the Opposition Business in the Senate 2007-12. (b. 1957-).

2002-07 and 2012- Minister of Social Services and Community Development Melanie Griffin

2002-07 and 2012- Minister for Transport and Aviation Glenys Hanna-Martin
Chairperson of the Progressive Liberal Democratic Party from 2008. (b. 1958-).

2002-07 Parliamentary Secretary to the Office of the Prime Minister in Freeport Ann Percentie

2002-07 Parliamentary Secretary of Education V. Veronica Owens
MP from 2002. (b. 1956-).

2002-07 Parliamentary Secretary of Tourism Agatha Marcelle

2007-08 Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs Claire Hepburn
Lawyer and Law Professor. Senator 2007-08 and Supreme Court Judge in 2008. (b. 1945-).

2007-08 Minister of State for Immigration in the Ministry of National Security Elma Campbell
Senator 2007-08 and Ambassador to China from 2008. (b. 1955-).

2007-12 Minister of State for Social Development in the Ministry of Health and Social Development Loretta Butler-Turner
Former Deputy Chairperson of the Free National Movement its Deputy Leader and Deputy Opposition Leader from 2012 and MP since 2007. (b. 1961-).

2007-12 Parliamentary Secretary for the Office of the Prime Minister with responsibility for the Broadcasting Corporation and the Information Services Kay Forbes-Smith
Appointed Senator in 2007.

2012- Minister of State in the Ministry of Transport and Aviation Hope Strachan

2012- Parliamentary Secretary of Foreign Affairs and Immigration Cleola Hamilton

2014- Governor General Dame Marguerite Pindling

Married to Sir. Lynden Pindling (1930-2000) who was Prime Minister of the Colony of Bahamas 1967-73 and of independent Bahamas 1973-92 and Deputy to the Governor General 2012-14. (b. 1932-).


Last update 14.07.14