Argentina Heads

Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Female Heads of State of Argentina
(Female Suffrage 1947/52) Independent from Spain 1816

1973-74 Vice-President María Estella Martínez Cartas de Perón
1974-76 President and Head of the Cabinet (1.7.74-13.9.76)

Isabel Peron was Chairman of Partido Justicial, The Peronist party 1974-85, 1976-78 in Prison, 1981-93 Exile in Spain (b. 1931-).

2007-15 President and Head of the Cabinet Cristina E. Fernández Wilhelm de Kirchner
Member of the Assembly of Santa Cruz 1989-95 and 1. Vice-President of the Assembly in 1990, National Senator 1995-97 and again since 2001, National Deputy 1997-2001. President of the Senate Committee of Contitutional Affairs since 2001. Her husband, Nestor Kirchner was President until 2007. She is mother of 2 children. (b. 1953-).

2011-14 Second Deputy Head of State, Provisorial President of the Senate Beatriz Rojkes de Alperovich
As Presidenta Provisorial de Senado, she is second in line of succession after the Vice-President, who is the Senate President but only asumes this role on special occations.

2015- Vice-President Gabriela Michetti
Deputy Chief of Government of Buenos Aires 2007-09, MP 2009-13 and Senator 2013-15. (b. 1965-)


Last update 12.12.15