Antigua and Barbuda Ministers Worldwide Guide to Women in Leadership
Female Heads of State of Antigua and Barbuda
(Universal Suffrage 1951)British Colony since 1632, independent 1981 as a constitutional Monarchy

See also Heads of State for Queen and Governor-General, and Antigua Parliament

1994-99 Parliamentary Secretary of Women’s Affairs Gwendolyn Tonge
1999-2001 Commissioner for Gender Affairs, Child Welfare, Single Parents and Care for the Elderly in the Ministry of of the Prime Minister

1998-2001 Attorney-General Gertel Thom
She was Deputy Solicitor-General for Antigua and Barbuda, Attorney-General of Montserrat and Chief Legal Advisor to the Governor 1990-96. As Antiguan Attorney-General she was Second in the Cabinet. She then practiced law until 2005 when she became a High Court Judge in St. Vincent.

2003-04 Junior Minister in the Ministry of Health Gail A.J. Christian
Public Prosecutor 1999-2001. Senator 2003. Candidate for the Assembly for Antigua Labour Party and from 2004 Minority Leader in the Senate.
2004-05 Minister of State in the Office of the Prime Minister for Information and Public Service Affairs
2005-09 Minister of Labour, Public Administration and Empowernment
14 Minister of Education, Gener, Sport and Youth Affairs
Dr. Jacqui Quinn-Leandro
Elected as the first female Member of the Legislative Assembly in 2004 (The speaker was appointed). In January 2005 she was appointed Acting Prime Minister when the chief of government was abroad
and senator from 2014. (b. 1965-)

2004-05 Minister of State attached to the Ministry of Agriculture, Food Production and Marine Affairs Joanne Massiah
2005-08 Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture with
with responsibility for Food Production and Marine Affairs
2006 Acting Minister of Agriculture, Lands, Fisheries and Marine Resources (June-August)
2008-09 Minister of Agriculture, Lands, Fisheries and Marine Resources
2009-14 Minister of State of Legal Affairs
UPP Senator 2000-14 and MP from 2014. (b. 1968-).

2004-14 Cabinet Secretary Eusalyn Lewis
Until 2004 Chief Establishment Officer, she previously served as Permanent Secretary in the Ministries of Education and Health.

2014- Minister of Social Transformation and Human Resource Development Samantha Nicole Marshall

2014- Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Legal Affairs, Public Safety, Immigration and Labour Maureen Payne-Hyman
Appointed Senator in 2014.


Last update 20.08.14